Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This turned out great just as it is written. Perfect amount to drizzle over a bundt cake without having too much frosting left on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
To make it non-dairy/parve i used margerine in place of the butter and soy milk in place of the milk. Nice, smooth and satiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Love this recipe. Frosting is like eating a praline if you add pecans to it. My husband has requested a caramel cake for the past three weeks. I made a layer cake and had to triple the recipe to make enough. As shown recipe is only enough to drizzle over a bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a caramel frosting to spread over banana muffins. This is it. Really easy and pretty much foolproof. This will be my go-to caramel icing recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great frosting. I used skim milk and it was still wonderful. Drizzled over 'Apple Cake VII'. I like the way it hardens very pretty on the cake. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Not only did this frosting setup entirely too fast it scarcely tasted like caramel. If you are looking for a soft, manageable caramel frosting look somewhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Turned out great..used my electric mixer due to arthritis and it was nice and creamy. Doubled the recipe for a 9 x 13 cake as this is hubby's favorite frosting. Does set up fast so make sure your cake is cooled somewhat before you even begin making this frosting. The taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very sweet, very hard to spread. I even added some Marshmallow creme, as suggested by another user, and it was still difficult to work with. I added it to white cupcakes and the combo was over the top with sweetness. I think I'll try to make this with more milk and less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Hubby says it tasted just like his Grandma's caramel frosting....it's a keeper! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I added a little extra milk to thin it out a tad. I made the Southern Praline cake and drizzled it with this frosting. I receive compliments everytime I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States