Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a caramel frosting to spread over banana muffins. This is it. Really easy and pretty much foolproof. This will be my go-to caramel icing recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great frosting. I used skim milk and it was still wonderful. Drizzled over 'Apple Cake VII'. I like the way it hardens very pretty on the cake. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Not only did this frosting setup entirely too fast it scarcely tasted like caramel. If you are looking for a soft, manageable caramel frosting look somewhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Turned out great..used my electric mixer due to arthritis and it was nice and creamy. Doubled the recipe for a 9 x 13 cake as this is hubby's favorite frosting. Does set up fast so make sure your cake is cooled somewhat before you even begin making this frosting. The taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very sweet, very hard to spread. I even added some Marshmallow creme, as suggested by another user, and it was still difficult to work with. I added it to white cupcakes and the combo was over the top with sweetness. I think I'll try to make this with more milk and less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Hubby says it tasted just like his Grandma's caramel frosting....it's a keeper! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I added a little extra milk to thin it out a tad. I made the Southern Praline cake and drizzled it with this frosting. I receive compliments everytime I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Sooooo sweet and hardened really fast and was very thick. Maybe I am losing some of my sweet tooth in my old age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This frosting is perfect and easy to make. I frosted 3 layers of a french vanilla cake mix, then I poured a melted chocolate chip and cream mixture over the top. I think I may have over did it because the cake was way too sweet. I will definately make this frosting again but next time I will frost a sponge cake and servr it with whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Mmmmmm....very rich, but very delicious! This is the kind of frosting that makes you enjoy a smaller slice of cake because of its richness. I used half and half for the liquid and didn't measure it out...just stirred it in until it looked thick and creamy. I also added a pinch of salt to balance out the sweetness. I iced my french vanilla banana muffins (will post recipe on this site shortly) with this frosting and it turned out to be the perfect combo! Thanks for a great, basic caramel frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States