Caramel Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
These are a lot of work, but oh my, are they delicious! Rave reviews from all and requests to bring these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Outstanding! I have been making carmel my entire adult life following a recipe that my mother had gotten from her friend some 55 years ago. But no longer this recipe is a lot easier and taste just as good. My family tradition lives on but with this new recipe. WEEZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I also cook to 240. This was my first time making I love it. I will be making all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Monio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I should have read the reviews first. I too cooked it to 250 degrees and it was so hard. I am not giving up on it. I will try one more time because they taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
For easy cutting, line your pan with with parchment paper; just lift the parchment paper out, cut into strips with a good pizza cutter, and use a knife for sizing into pieces. I double the recipe and use a jelly roll pan. Also, definitely get a good thermometer (boil water and make sure it reads 212F) and definitely boil candy to just over 250F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Melt in your mouth wonderful. I cooked the caramel to a temperature of 244 degrees. I made the recipe exactly as stated except for the temperature. I will be making these several times a year, as my family and friends love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made over 300 of these bad boys andit took forever to cut and wrap, but it was worth every moment of the process. They turned out perfect. I was only able to heat that much up to 240 deg. but cooked it a little longer untill it formed a rigid ball. I ended up also making them into caramel lolly-pop and disks! If you are reading this know that if you bring the temp up to the 265 area it will get to be more of a hard candy when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I agree 100% about cooking it to 240, I do everything else by the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Mine didn't turn out. How long does it take to cool. I cooled it overnight then put it in the fridge and tryed to cut it and it was mushy at the bottom... I'm disappointed but maybe I did something wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
After having issues with two different Martha Stewart recipes for caramel I just about gave up. I had promised my son caramel on Christmas and that's what kept me trying. I finally found this recipe and said what the heck might as well. Not only did this recipe take a quarter of the time to cook, but the color is amazing as well. The other caramels didn't set but this was well on it's way to setting within minutes. Thank you so much! I let it set on the spoon so I could assess the flavor (quality control you know lol) and much to my delight it was amazing! Better than Martha Stewart's recipe by far. Thank you for helping me not break a promise to my son and for sharing such a wonderful recipe!!! P.S. I cooked it until it reached 125 C and it turned out perfect. Nothing wrong with this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States