Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I have 2 little girls, now ages 7 and 8. I found this recipe on this site 2 years ago. I was so flattered when we started talking about Christmas baking... my girls wanted to know if we would be making the candy cane cookies. They enjoy creating this cookie, it's easy and fun to make...not to mention tasty! I want to thank you for sharing this recipe with us and allowing me to start my "own" little Christmas tradition with my daughters. Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
GREAT recipe! I used to have to beg my sister in law to make these every Christmas, and she wouldn't share the recipe. Now that she's moved away, no cookies :o( Until now!!! Thank you so much for sharing. I did use butter instead of margarine, and used alot of flour when rolling them. Dusting with the sugar/candy cane mixture while hot helps make it stick. Again, thank you, a new addition to my own holiday cookie tray!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These cookies are delicious... I really liked the crushed candy cane bits on top... though, I had a little trouble getting it to stick... even hot out of the oven... but if you put it on before they go in the oven, the will melt. If you are looking for a quicker method of making these cookies... I got tired of rolling out all the pieces towards the end of my baking, so I made one big log out of the two colors and put it in the freezer for about 15 minutes... then I cut off slices of the dough and baked them... they looked beautiful, and tasted just as good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLASSGIRL25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I used to make these cookies when I was younger with my grandmother but now she is too old to carry on the tradition. I have two little girls myself now and we've created a new tradition of baking the cookies together. They love 'em and it's fun doing it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Very good cookie. I made the dough, left it overnight, and then when my 7 year old came home from school with her little friend, we made candy cane shapes together. Excellent, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was exactly what i remember making when I was a child. I wanted to make them with my 4 year old and he was very funny trying to roll the little worms. The taste great too. Not to pepperminty. Thanks for the great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These were awesome! They tasted exactly like the ones my aunt used to make every Christmas. Thanks for helping me rediscover a Christmas memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My mom has made these cookies every Christmas since I can remember and they've always been my favorite! Her original recipe came from a 1980 Parenting magazine and instead of rolling the hot cookies in the crushed candy cane, we've always mixed a little bit of water with confectioner's sugar and brushed it on the tops of the cooled cookies and then rolled them in the crushed candy cane. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
It tasted like heaven when I bit into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
My brother asks for these cookies every year. I have tried many different recipes in the past, but they were always too dry to form the candy canes. This is the best recipe I have found and will use for years to come! I did increase the peppermint extract to 1 tsp and the flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxonburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States