Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My mom has made these cookies every Christmas since I can remember and they've always been my favorite! Her original recipe came from a 1980 Parenting magazine and instead of rolling the hot cookies in the crushed candy cane, we've always mixed a little bit of water with confectioner's sugar and brushed it on the tops of the cooled cookies and then rolled them in the crushed candy cane. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These were awesome! They tasted exactly like the ones my aunt used to make every Christmas. Thanks for helping me rediscover a Christmas memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I thought these were good but needed more peppermint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These were great. Not else much to say. I followed the recipe and they came out delicious and just as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was exactly what i remember making when I was a child. I wanted to make them with my 4 year old and he was very funny trying to roll the little worms. The taste great too. Not to pepperminty. Thanks for the great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Very good cookie. I made the dough, left it overnight, and then when my 7 year old came home from school with her little friend, we made candy cane shapes together. Excellent, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I used to make these cookies when I was younger with my grandmother but now she is too old to carry on the tradition. I have two little girls myself now and we've created a new tradition of baking the cookies together. They love 'em and it's fun doing it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are very mild but tasty. They look great with an assortment on a tray...adds color and variety. I made green and white, red and white, and red and green. My kids really liked them. The hardest part was crushing the candy canes. I also used a full tsp. of peppermint extract...1/2 tsp. would not be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I had a recipe for these cookies when my kids were little. They used to eat them faster than I could make them. I lost the recipe from then. These are pretty close to the one's I used to make. I didn't use the pepperment extract so they were more like butter cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Great cookie for the holidays! Soft and wonderful. Didn't make candy canes but stars with a sprinkle of peppermint! A traditional cookie for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States