Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I added an extra 1/2 tsp of peppermint per the advise of another reviewer and it was wonderful! I had my mom taste them to make sure they tasted like hers and she loved them!! They were very delicate to take of the cookie sheet once out of the oven, probaly a good idea to let them cool first. I will definetly make these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My kids love this cookie. It does take a little time because of chilling the dough and twisting the doughs together but they are very festive and worth it. The peppermint extract really makes a difference. I did have a hard time getting the crushed peppermint to stick after they were baked so instead I rolled them in sugar before baking and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I love baking Christmas cookies and have made dozens of different kinds, from drop to shaped to bars. This recipe sounded and looked so good, I thought I'd give it a try. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. Rarely have I had a cookie fail so badly. The cookie itself was delicious, but they looked horrible! The first batch spread out way too much and I ended up with huge, amorphous, striped cookies. I tried dipping them in the candy cane/sugar mixture, but that just looked strange so I didn't bother next time. The next batch, I tried to roll each worm much smaller and the cookies did turn out better, but still didn't look very good. Since the dough was so soft, even after refrigerating for 2 hours, I put it in the freezer for an hour to see if I could make one more batch with harder dough. That didn't work either; the dough became too brittle too roll. In the end, I just decided to give up on the rest of the cookies because it wasn't worth all that prep work to get mediocre-looking cookies. I'd rather my boyfriend eat the dough than waste my time on these cookies. I have plenty of recipes that turn out much better cookies with a lot less work. What a disappointment! I won't bother with this recipe again. Suggestions: If you don't mind how your cookie looks, this is a tasty recipe, but very time intensive. Using butter instead of margarine might prevent the cookies from spreading so much and I'd skip the candy cane topping or follow one of the suggestions on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe is AMAZING. Today was the first time I had ever made candy cane cookies and this recipe was absolutely perfect. I didn't need to change a thing. They are delicious and look great. The sugar on top really makes them stand out! GREAT recipe, I will be making a few more batches of these before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was only able to make about 2 pans worth of cookies out of this recipe (about 20 cookies). I guess I do like my cookies big! I have used this recipe before but it didn't have the candy toping. I couldn't get the candy to stay on top of the cookies at first. But as soon as the cookies cooled the candy stayed. I also added 1 teaspoon of peppermint extract. I feel like it could have used another 1/2 a teaspoon. Other than my issues with it this was a great recipe. My daughter and husband made sure they were gone by the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I've baked these for years. I use almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKANANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkview, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is the best base for a sugar cookie recipe. Mix the coloring when the dough is fresh, it's easier (for the other reviewer). I did increase the peppermint to 1 tsp and using a "hand chopper like Pampered Chef to chop the candy is much easier. I used round hard peppermints instead of candy canes (easier to unwrap and find). The dough does chill fast, I only had it in the frig for 2 hours, but taking small balls in your hands and rolling them around quickly form logs. I LOVED this recipe and am going to experiment with other colors and candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Although I love to bake, I admit that making "pretty" cookies is not my strength. From the reviews I read I expected this recipe to be easy. I had some unexpected difficulties. I originally planned for my children and their friends to make these one night. I crushed the candy canes (opening them all was a time consuming chore!), used my food processor to crush them and left them in a cup for later when we made the cookies. Big mistake! The crushed crumbs all gelled together. They were unusable. I discovered this when we were about to make the cookies. The dough had chilled a little over an hour. I decided to wait until the next morning to make them. "At least" an hour for the chilling had an upper limit I learned. In the morning the dough was hard as a rock, and I simply couldn't use it. Later, when I could use the dough I had trouble mixing the red food coloring in with the hard dough. I think it would have been easier to divide the dough and mix the food coloring in before chilling it. For some reason, when I formed the cookies the uncolored dough was very crumbly. The red dough was not. The really didn't look very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
My brother asks for these cookies every year. I have tried many different recipes in the past, but they were always too dry to form the candy canes. This is the best recipe I have found and will use for years to come! I did increase the peppermint extract to 1 tsp and the flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxonburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
It tasted like heaven when I bit into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States