Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Hands down, my mother made this recipe seem not only easier but her cookies were much better. No offense to the recipe artist but the cookies were ridiculously hard to manipulate unless they were thoroughly chilled. I will say after the two hours of work and waiting it led to an intense dough fight. The cookies created a ton of laughs in the process. Needs -1/2 cup more sugar -Almond instead of peppermint extract -1/4 cup less sugar Also try lightly buttering the top with some sugar whipped butter and the sugar will probably stick a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I used to make these with my grandmother but I like this recipe even better! I only changed a couple things. I didn't have peppermint extract so I crushed a few candy canes (about a 1/2 cup) and used them instead, put it right in the batter. Before I chilled the dough I divided it and used the mixer to blend in the red food coloring for 1/2 the dough. You will need to use a lot of red food coloring so they don't look pink. I used about a 1/3 of a bottle. This dough is EXCELLENT to roll and work this. I'll use it for cookie cutter dough too. I didn't decorate mine, didn't need it since the crushed candy canes in the dough gave it a neat texture. Love them, thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My first time baking from scratch and this recipe was wonderful. My cookies were a hit at our Christmas Eve party. Followed the recipe to a tee - and plan to make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Just like I remember making as a kid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
They look very festive but taste horrible. I felt like I was eating a biscuit. I think if you double the peppermint extract that would take care of the problem. 1/2 tsp is not enough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javaflops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by technomama
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These cookies turned out great! Just as I remembered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used 1 t of peppermint extract instead of just a 1/2 t with wonderful results. I made candy canes with about half the dough. The other half I used to make round cookies - when they cooled a bit I pressed a candy cane-flavored Hershey kiss in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Help!! I tried making these cookies tonight and could not get "worms" at all! Every time I got the dough to a worm shape, it crumbled and cracked. By the time I reached frustration, the dough was all warm again and now it is sitting in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
yup, i remember why i don't like making these....the dough is hard to work with, and i do not yeild 48 cookies out of this at all. more like 2 dozen. instead of peppermint, i used anise flavoring. they do taste good, and i'm sure i'll go through the trouble again. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
i thought these cookies were great! i rolled a small piece of each colored dough into about two inch pieces, then i picked them up twisted them, then rolled into each other on the cutting board. did that make sense? =) just make sure the board is dry, and only leave a little flour on your fingers, or the dough will not stay and roll together. then i put the twisted, rolled strip on the baking sheet lined with parchment, then i turned the end into a cane. right out of the oven, i poured white sugar on top, and it made them look awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States