Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent! Just put the dough in the fridge for a while and they are easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies came out pretty good! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kouts, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These are ok but I agree with some other reviews that they really aren't worth the time they take to make. I don't understand why some folks give it a 4 or 5 star rating but then also list about 10 adjustments they made to the recipe. IMO, they are no longer reviewing this recipe so it skews the overall rating. If you do make these, I would suggest not using the crushed candycane/sugar coating. They're much prettier left alone. These cookies are pretty on a cookie tray but I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerstin
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
My mom made me these with a small variation ever since I can remember. I tried this recipe and it tasted the same as hers. MAKE SURE YOU CHILL THE DOUGH BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO ROLL INTO BALLS AND ROPES!! I used full teaspoon of peppermint and also crushed candy canes in the red dough. These just remind me of childhood. My hubs does not care for these as he thinks they taste like flour, I will admit they aren't overly favorful or sweet but thats what makes them good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
these were AWESOME! they look and taste amazing. totally recommend! although i did ad 1 full tsp of peppermint! all around good tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These have very good peppermint flavor, and they bake up nicely. Definitely a pain to make--one of those things that I know going into it that will be a pain but trudge ahead anyway. Halfway through I always wonder why I'm torturing myself . . .anyway, cute but you definitely have to take your time. Mine tore each time I think. I didn't bother crushing peppermint candy and just rolled in regular sugar before baking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These are such pretty cookies! I used butter instead of margarine and doubled the peppermint extract. I sprinkled red and white sugar crystals on them before baking instead of using the crushed candy canes. I think with a recipe like this you have to go into it knowing it's going to be a pain in the rear end to make them :) You need a very gentle touch when rolling out the ropes and plenty of mine were do-overs because they tore while I tried to twist them. But I trudged forward and was rewarded with a spectacular-looking treat. They didn't puff at all in the oven! Will definitely make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Hands down, my mother made this recipe seem not only easier but her cookies were much better. No offense to the recipe artist but the cookies were ridiculously hard to manipulate unless they were thoroughly chilled. I will say after the two hours of work and waiting it led to an intense dough fight. The cookies created a ton of laughs in the process. Needs -1/2 cup more sugar -Almond instead of peppermint extract -1/4 cup less sugar Also try lightly buttering the top with some sugar whipped butter and the sugar will probably stick a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I used to make these with my grandmother but I like this recipe even better! I only changed a couple things. I didn't have peppermint extract so I crushed a few candy canes (about a 1/2 cup) and used them instead, put it right in the batter. Before I chilled the dough I divided it and used the mixer to blend in the red food coloring for 1/2 the dough. You will need to use a lot of red food coloring so they don't look pink. I used about a 1/3 of a bottle. This dough is EXCELLENT to roll and work this. I'll use it for cookie cutter dough too. I didn't decorate mine, didn't need it since the crushed candy canes in the dough gave it a neat texture. Love them, thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My first time baking from scratch and this recipe was wonderful. My cookies were a hit at our Christmas Eve party. Followed the recipe to a tee - and plan to make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States