Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I gave this review 2 stars only because the cookies were cute. Now as for taste, They had flour taste. Not good. I was really disappointed over the flavor of these cookies. And they were a bit hard to manage with the twisting because the dough kept sticking to my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I was so optimistic about these cookies. However, they didn't turn out as nicely as I had hoped. We went through the reviews and made some of the suggested modifications (half butter/half shortening, mixing the crushed candy canes into the red dough, longer refrigeration time, sprinkling with sugar while hot, etc.) but the dough was still very crumbly and hard to work with. I also think we let the dough get too warm while we were shaping the cookies, and they ended up spreading a lot while baking. Overall, they still tasted good, which is why I'm giving 3 stars. If there is a next time, I will probably try shaping and baking about 4 cookies at a time to keep the dough from warming too much before going into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
If you like bland cookies then these are for you. I have made these before in the past, so I can figure out the roping and twisting process, but the flavor wasn't there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
It is rare that I give such a low mark, but these were quite a disappointment. I divided the dough in half and colored part red. Forming the "rope" and twisting was not obvious to me.... and mine were extremely time consuming and not very pretty. I found a video on Joy Of Baking that shows the twisting technique. However, I don't think it is worth all the effort. The taste was "so-so" in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I didn't put in the crushed candy canes- I added an extra 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract. Very good, easy to work the dough, mildly minty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as follows, and I would say that the margarine to flour ratio is off...they were not firm, very soft and squishy and I have used better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Delicious, perfect amount of peppermint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Pretty good, and just like I remember as a kid! Not too sweet, which is nice. We sprinkled the crushed candy canes and sugar instead of rolling it, but I still think they turned out great! Love the peppermint extract in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Overall, not worth the super-human effort. This is my first and last time making candy cane cookies. To all of you who make them every year - I salute you! My two cents: - These cookies have a very mild flavor - think shortbread. I like it and it is nice to have a cookie that is not overly sweet in the mix. I liked the texture as well. - Rolling the dough into this shape is just a pain. I really can't imagine any other dough would be easier. It is what it is. Mine looked quite festive and cheerful, but not perfect by any stretch! - I took the advice of another reviewer and brushed sugar water on my cooled cookies before dipping them in crushed candy canes. This worked okay, but my candy canes absorbed moisture and were all clumped together about halfway through the batch. I would set aside half of the candy cane next time (but there won't be a next time, will there?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Good version of this recipe! I, like someone else, put crushed the candy canes and put them inside the red part of the dough and baked it in. I also doubled the amount of peppermint flavoring - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States