Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I have 2 little girls, now ages 7 and 8. I found this recipe on this site 2 years ago. I was so flattered when we started talking about Christmas baking... my girls wanted to know if we would be making the candy cane cookies. They enjoy creating this cookie, it's easy and fun to make...not to mention tasty! I want to thank you for sharing this recipe with us and allowing me to start my "own" little Christmas tradition with my daughters. Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
These were a nice addition to the baking I do during the holidays this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
GREAT recipe! I used to have to beg my sister in law to make these every Christmas, and she wouldn't share the recipe. Now that she's moved away, no cookies :o( Until now!!! Thank you so much for sharing. I did use butter instead of margarine, and used alot of flour when rolling them. Dusting with the sugar/candy cane mixture while hot helps make it stick. Again, thank you, a new addition to my own holiday cookie tray!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
These are really good. I'd add at least 1 tsp of peppermint extract though. I crushed some candy canes and put them in with the red dough and only put sugar on top and I prefer them that way, the candy canes can be a bit sticky on top. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These cookies are delicious... I really liked the crushed candy cane bits on top... though, I had a little trouble getting it to stick... even hot out of the oven... but if you put it on before they go in the oven, the will melt. If you are looking for a quicker method of making these cookies... I got tired of rolling out all the pieces towards the end of my baking, so I made one big log out of the two colors and put it in the freezer for about 15 minutes... then I cut off slices of the dough and baked them... they looked beautiful, and tasted just as good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLASSGIRL25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
These are a lot of fun but I would add a little more peppermint. They don't have too much taste but they are so cute! I wasn't able to roll them in sugar and candy cane because they broke apart too easily. Maybe I made them too big??? I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
These were very yummy and fun to make as a family. The only thing that I would change in the future is the candy cane pieces on top. They don't stick very well and it made a huge mess. They do definitely add to the cookie's flavor though, so I think I'll try what a previous reviewer suggested, adding the candy cane pieces to the red dough and just adding sugar to the top. The cookie is definitely a keeper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
The cookies turned out delicious without the candy canes on top. The only issue was the prep time. It took a long time to shape into candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Great cookie for the holidays! Soft and wonderful. Didn't make candy canes but stars with a sprinkle of peppermint! A traditional cookie for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I had a recipe for these cookies when my kids were little. They used to eat them faster than I could make them. I lost the recipe from then. These are pretty close to the one's I used to make. I didn't use the pepperment extract so they were more like butter cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States