Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The cookies tasted good but way too much time and effort for the end result. Added 1/2 tsp more of peppermint extract. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These were good the first night, then not so great the 2nd day. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Very good. A little hard to get the candy cane shape to work out but it got easier the more I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This was a really cute and different cookie to make for the holidays. I made them for my 7 year old daughter's school holiday party. In the dough, I added and extra half a tsp of the peppermint extract. I used a cookie press and put half of the red and white dough in it. Then I used the setting that let's it out in a round rope like form so it saved having to roll them out. I then cut the pieces and then just slightly twisted them. I then cooked them with red sprinkles. When they were done I put the chopped up candy cane on them and put them in the oven for a about a minute. When they were all cooled I made a thin white icing with peppermint extract to drizzle on the candy canes in a diagnal form to give it the look of more white stripes. It was really good and they looked so cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .5flipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Wow.. This was an easy recipe to make and it tasted WONDERFUL! And the kids had a BLAST making the candy canes! I added 1 teas of mint extract like others suggested and like others the chopped up peppermint candies didn't really stick at all to the cookies.. I tried adding some to the cookies before I baked them but that just turned into a melted mess **Oh shoot, I guess I'll have to save all those ugly cookies for myself** LOL... so I just made sure the peppermint candies were chopped so fine (like powder) that I could just sprinkle it on while the cookies were cooling but still hot and that seemed to work pretty well. DEFINATLY a Keeper! My new favorite Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These were very very good. I would only bake for 8 min. I baked 10 min and they were a bit dry. I will make again even not at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Cookies weren't bad, but they weren't great either. My mom said she never used peppermint, instead she used almond. I think I like that a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I added an extra 1/2 tsp of peppermint per the advise of another reviewer and it was wonderful! I had my mom taste them to make sure they tasted like hers and she loved them!! They were very delicate to take of the cookie sheet once out of the oven, probaly a good idea to let them cool first. I will definetly make these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My kids love this cookie. It does take a little time because of chilling the dough and twisting the doughs together but they are very festive and worth it. The peppermint extract really makes a difference. I did have a hard time getting the crushed peppermint to stick after they were baked so instead I rolled them in sugar before baking and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I love baking Christmas cookies and have made dozens of different kinds, from drop to shaped to bars. This recipe sounded and looked so good, I thought I'd give it a try. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. Rarely have I had a cookie fail so badly. The cookie itself was delicious, but they looked horrible! The first batch spread out way too much and I ended up with huge, amorphous, striped cookies. I tried dipping them in the candy cane/sugar mixture, but that just looked strange so I didn't bother next time. The next batch, I tried to roll each worm much smaller and the cookies did turn out better, but still didn't look very good. Since the dough was so soft, even after refrigerating for 2 hours, I put it in the freezer for an hour to see if I could make one more batch with harder dough. That didn't work either; the dough became too brittle too roll. In the end, I just decided to give up on the rest of the cookies because it wasn't worth all that prep work to get mediocre-looking cookies. I'd rather my boyfriend eat the dough than waste my time on these cookies. I have plenty of recipes that turn out much better cookies with a lot less work. What a disappointment! I won't bother with this recipe again. Suggestions: If you don't mind how your cookie looks, this is a tasty recipe, but very time intensive. Using butter instead of margarine might prevent the cookies from spreading so much and I'd skip the candy cane topping or follow one of the suggestions on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States