Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Just like I remember making as a kid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
They look very festive but taste horrible. I felt like I was eating a biscuit. I think if you double the peppermint extract that would take care of the problem. 1/2 tsp is not enough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javaflops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by technomama
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These cookies turned out great! Just as I remembered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used 1 t of peppermint extract instead of just a 1/2 t with wonderful results. I made candy canes with about half the dough. The other half I used to make round cookies - when they cooled a bit I pressed a candy cane-flavored Hershey kiss in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Help!! I tried making these cookies tonight and could not get "worms" at all! Every time I got the dough to a worm shape, it crumbled and cracked. By the time I reached frustration, the dough was all warm again and now it is sitting in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
yup, i remember why i don't like making these....the dough is hard to work with, and i do not yeild 48 cookies out of this at all. more like 2 dozen. instead of peppermint, i used anise flavoring. they do taste good, and i'm sure i'll go through the trouble again. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
i thought these cookies were great! i rolled a small piece of each colored dough into about two inch pieces, then i picked them up twisted them, then rolled into each other on the cutting board. did that make sense? =) just make sure the board is dry, and only leave a little flour on your fingers, or the dough will not stay and roll together. then i put the twisted, rolled strip on the baking sheet lined with parchment, then i turned the end into a cane. right out of the oven, i poured white sugar on top, and it made them look awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I am a home economics teacher and I am suprised that this recipe had such a high rating. I tried this in 3 different classes and the results each time were the same. Very bland - would not recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good!!! I did double the peppermint, and I did 1/2 butter flavored crisco and 1/2 butter. My 14 year old and I had so much fun! We split the dough into thirds and did red, GREEN and white.....NOW, it's Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Just like my mom's cookies! I replaced the peppermint flavor with almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States