Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I am a home economics teacher and I am suprised that this recipe had such a high rating. I tried this in 3 different classes and the results each time were the same. Very bland - would not recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good!!! I did double the peppermint, and I did 1/2 butter flavored crisco and 1/2 butter. My 14 year old and I had so much fun! We split the dough into thirds and did red, GREEN and white.....NOW, it's Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Just like my mom's cookies! I replaced the peppermint flavor with almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The cookies tasted good but way too much time and effort for the end result. Added 1/2 tsp more of peppermint extract. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These were good the first night, then not so great the 2nd day. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Very good. A little hard to get the candy cane shape to work out but it got easier the more I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This was a really cute and different cookie to make for the holidays. I made them for my 7 year old daughter's school holiday party. In the dough, I added and extra half a tsp of the peppermint extract. I used a cookie press and put half of the red and white dough in it. Then I used the setting that let's it out in a round rope like form so it saved having to roll them out. I then cut the pieces and then just slightly twisted them. I then cooked them with red sprinkles. When they were done I put the chopped up candy cane on them and put them in the oven for a about a minute. When they were all cooled I made a thin white icing with peppermint extract to drizzle on the candy canes in a diagnal form to give it the look of more white stripes. It was really good and they looked so cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .5flipgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Wow.. This was an easy recipe to make and it tasted WONDERFUL! And the kids had a BLAST making the candy canes! I added 1 teas of mint extract like others suggested and like others the chopped up peppermint candies didn't really stick at all to the cookies.. I tried adding some to the cookies before I baked them but that just turned into a melted mess **Oh shoot, I guess I'll have to save all those ugly cookies for myself** LOL... so I just made sure the peppermint candies were chopped so fine (like powder) that I could just sprinkle it on while the cookies were cooling but still hot and that seemed to work pretty well. DEFINATLY a Keeper! My new favorite Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These were very very good. I would only bake for 8 min. I baked 10 min and they were a bit dry. I will make again even not at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Cookies weren't bad, but they weren't great either. My mom said she never used peppermint, instead she used almond. I think I like that a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States