Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
these were AWESOME! they look and taste amazing. totally recommend! although i did ad 1 full tsp of peppermint! all around good tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These have very good peppermint flavor, and they bake up nicely. Definitely a pain to make--one of those things that I know going into it that will be a pain but trudge ahead anyway. Halfway through I always wonder why I'm torturing myself . . .anyway, cute but you definitely have to take your time. Mine tore each time I think. I didn't bother crushing peppermint candy and just rolled in regular sugar before baking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These are such pretty cookies! I used butter instead of margarine and doubled the peppermint extract. I sprinkled red and white sugar crystals on them before baking instead of using the crushed candy canes. I think with a recipe like this you have to go into it knowing it's going to be a pain in the rear end to make them :) You need a very gentle touch when rolling out the ropes and plenty of mine were do-overs because they tore while I tried to twist them. But I trudged forward and was rewarded with a spectacular-looking treat. They didn't puff at all in the oven! Will definitely make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Hands down, my mother made this recipe seem not only easier but her cookies were much better. No offense to the recipe artist but the cookies were ridiculously hard to manipulate unless they were thoroughly chilled. I will say after the two hours of work and waiting it led to an intense dough fight. The cookies created a ton of laughs in the process. Needs -1/2 cup more sugar -Almond instead of peppermint extract -1/4 cup less sugar Also try lightly buttering the top with some sugar whipped butter and the sugar will probably stick a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I used to make these with my grandmother but I like this recipe even better! I only changed a couple things. I didn't have peppermint extract so I crushed a few candy canes (about a 1/2 cup) and used them instead, put it right in the batter. Before I chilled the dough I divided it and used the mixer to blend in the red food coloring for 1/2 the dough. You will need to use a lot of red food coloring so they don't look pink. I used about a 1/3 of a bottle. This dough is EXCELLENT to roll and work this. I'll use it for cookie cutter dough too. I didn't decorate mine, didn't need it since the crushed candy canes in the dough gave it a neat texture. Love them, thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My first time baking from scratch and this recipe was wonderful. My cookies were a hit at our Christmas Eve party. Followed the recipe to a tee - and plan to make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Just like I remember making as a kid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
They look very festive but taste horrible. I felt like I was eating a biscuit. I think if you double the peppermint extract that would take care of the problem. 1/2 tsp is not enough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javaflops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by technomama
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These cookies turned out great! Just as I remembered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used 1 t of peppermint extract instead of just a 1/2 t with wonderful results. I made candy canes with about half the dough. The other half I used to make round cookies - when they cooled a bit I pressed a candy cane-flavored Hershey kiss in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States