Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Super cute cookie, not the most flavorful but maybe the best looking! I am thinking about hanging them on the christmas tree on christmas eve instead of real candy canes. They are very time consuming so I did mine in a few different batches, refrigerating them inbetween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Stall Thorpe
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These are a holiday tradition at our house. I use butter instead of margarine and a full tsp of peppermint extract to increase the flavor. I also use gel food coloring so the red dough isn't so moist that you can't work with it. I also divide the dough and color half BEFORE I chill it in the fridge. Much easier. I also find it easier not to roll the hot cookies but instead sprinkle the candy on the top with a spoon when they are hot. The candy sticks really well if you do it that way and the cookies don't break. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were SOOOOOO good and fun to make with the kids. I used almond instead of the peppermint extract. next time I'll have to crush the candies more because they didn't stick very well. I ate four while baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sherry
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
first time making these cookies,trying to get a head start on my christmas cookies this year, doing test run before mailing them out, anyway the idea for these is great but are time consuming. Have to practice twisting the dough around i guess, but they did taste good, the kids loved them. Can look good plain or with the (i used peppermints) on them. Used the idea for brushing confectioner sugar with water on the to hold on the mints, worked ok. Will make again for gifts, just have to work on my twisting...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BONBONGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
A Christmas cookie tray is incomplete without these! I always double the recipe. I make one recipe of plain dough and refrigerate it. Using the mixing bowl "as is" (without washing) I then mix up a full recipe of red dough. I just set the hot baked cookies up-side-down in sugar. Added some extra peppermint flavoring to make up for the missing crushed candy canes. Not worth the hassle. No one even noticed! I make these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yutan, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These cookies are AWESOME and easy!! I also used as a sugar cookie recipe by taking out the mint and candy canes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
These were good as far as taste, but they were very time consuming and somewhat difficult to assemble. I usually don't mind more involved recipes, but I'm not sure if these were worth the effort. They did look nice when they were finished though, so if you're looking to impress people with a different kind of cookie then maybe they would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I used to make these every Christmas with my mother. Now that I'm in charge of the Christmas cookies I searched for this cookie to add to my platter. This recipe is a bit different than I made as a child, however, honestly...better! The cookies came up perfect crispness / chewiness! However, I must say the dough was difficult / irritating to work with - warmed very easily when rolling and I had to frequently place it in the freezer for quick firming. Often my cookie sheets were going in the oven with only 4 cookies on them! Overall, though, the taste, texture and presentation of the final product was exceptional! Even my 16 month old loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These turned out beautifully, but I had a couple issues with the directions. As someone else commented, the sugar/candy can mix doesn't stick well ... I smeared it on which worked OK but was really messy ... I might try spritzing them with something kinda stick and sprinkling next time. Also ... I played with the size and thickness of the 'ropes' a lot. The cutest ones had pretty narrow short ropes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Fabulous! We added the crushed peppermint candy canes to the red dough instead of putting it on top - did not use the white sugar for decoration but might consider it next time. Peppermint flavoring is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States