Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
It is rare that I give such a low mark, but these were quite a disappointment. I divided the dough in half and colored part red. Forming the "rope" and twisting was not obvious to me.... and mine were extremely time consuming and not very pretty. I found a video on Joy Of Baking that shows the twisting technique. However, I don't think it is worth all the effort. The taste was "so-so" in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I didn't put in the crushed candy canes- I added an extra 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract. Very good, easy to work the dough, mildly minty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as follows, and I would say that the margarine to flour ratio is off...they were not firm, very soft and squishy and I have used better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Delicious, perfect amount of peppermint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Pretty good, and just like I remember as a kid! Not too sweet, which is nice. We sprinkled the crushed candy canes and sugar instead of rolling it, but I still think they turned out great! Love the peppermint extract in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Overall, not worth the super-human effort. This is my first and last time making candy cane cookies. To all of you who make them every year - I salute you! My two cents: - These cookies have a very mild flavor - think shortbread. I like it and it is nice to have a cookie that is not overly sweet in the mix. I liked the texture as well. - Rolling the dough into this shape is just a pain. I really can't imagine any other dough would be easier. It is what it is. Mine looked quite festive and cheerful, but not perfect by any stretch! - I took the advice of another reviewer and brushed sugar water on my cooled cookies before dipping them in crushed candy canes. This worked okay, but my candy canes absorbed moisture and were all clumped together about halfway through the batch. I would set aside half of the candy cane next time (but there won't be a next time, will there?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Stonehouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Good version of this recipe! I, like someone else, put crushed the candy canes and put them inside the red part of the dough and baked it in. I also doubled the amount of peppermint flavoring - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
love this recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were vile. I couldn't even get my 4 kids to eat them, they just went into the trash. They tasted like mouthwash. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
good needs more peppermint flavorI ill add 2 tps next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States