Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Chrissie
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
The cookie, delish! The recipe, easy as pie and making the canes, well still learning that one! lol..I even made a pretzel shaped one! Mykids loved them and Ive eaten more than I should! LOL! I too had trouble with the candy cane, sugar topping, I resolved it by leaving the candy cane pieces a littler larger than the recipe calls for and puting them on prior to baking and they did not melt :) Thanks for sharing :) Chrissie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie
Living In: Keithville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These were so easy to make & a big hit with friends & family at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I gave this review 2 stars only because the cookies were cute. Now as for taste, They had flour taste. Not good. I was really disappointed over the flavor of these cookies. And they were a bit hard to manage with the twisting because the dough kept sticking to my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I was so optimistic about these cookies. However, they didn't turn out as nicely as I had hoped. We went through the reviews and made some of the suggested modifications (half butter/half shortening, mixing the crushed candy canes into the red dough, longer refrigeration time, sprinkling with sugar while hot, etc.) but the dough was still very crumbly and hard to work with. I also think we let the dough get too warm while we were shaping the cookies, and they ended up spreading a lot while baking. Overall, they still tasted good, which is why I'm giving 3 stars. If there is a next time, I will probably try shaping and baking about 4 cookies at a time to keep the dough from warming too much before going into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
If you like bland cookies then these are for you. I have made these before in the past, so I can figure out the roping and twisting process, but the flavor wasn't there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
It is rare that I give such a low mark, but these were quite a disappointment. I divided the dough in half and colored part red. Forming the "rope" and twisting was not obvious to me.... and mine were extremely time consuming and not very pretty. I found a video on Joy Of Baking that shows the twisting technique. However, I don't think it is worth all the effort. The taste was "so-so" in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I didn't put in the crushed candy canes- I added an extra 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract. Very good, easy to work the dough, mildly minty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as follows, and I would say that the margarine to flour ratio is off...they were not firm, very soft and squishy and I have used better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Delicious, perfect amount of peppermint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Pretty good, and just like I remember as a kid! Not too sweet, which is nice. We sprinkled the crushed candy canes and sugar instead of rolling it, but I still think they turned out great! Love the peppermint extract in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States