Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I love this recipe. It is so delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving 2012 and my family devoured the dish. This was the one dish that there were no leftovers when I started packing up the food that night. Thank you DJ for this recipe. It really is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anayaelf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Wonderful! Put half the margarine and that was still too much. But everyone loved it! Glad I tried to make it. First time I have ever made sweet potatoes (my mom usually makes them). I peeled them though. The recipe did not say to do this but it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and at the same time everyone enjoyed it. Due to the fact that I am pregnant, I enjoyed it the most!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meanhilary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I thought this was great! I think the times need to be adjusted though. Prep time was more like 40 mins to get the sweet potatoes softened and ready to cook. After that, everything else seems to be right. Also, using previous recommendations I adjusted the brown sugar and marshmallows. I used only half of what it said so thats: 3/4 Cup of margerine (I used butter) 3/4 Cup of brown sugar Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These were fantastic! I did however make a few minor changes that I believe made them even better: I used less butter and brown sugar, but added a couple of tablespoons of apricot jam. Can you say yum?! Also, after the marshmallows were melted into the butter, brown sugar & jam, I added a small splash of fresh orange juice. I used bagged sweet potatoes from Trader Joes that were already peeled and cut into chunks--they seemed a little overdone, so next time I will boil for about half that time. All in all, this is one for the ages. I will be pulling this out every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I'm cooking it Right now as I write this.It does look like there is to much better.So what I did I pourd some of the juice out then cooked it in the oven.They said to boil for 15 mins then smach some of them and keep some in pieces but it's not easy to brakethem up.So I'm cooking mine and taken them out here and there and smuching them.So I hope this works out.Or Im scerwed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this dish two years ago as my contribution to Thanksgiving Dinner. By the time I made my plate, they were almost gone. Since I will be cooking our feast this year, I just frantically hunted down this recipe because it is sheer perfection! Everyone loved this dish and complimented me that year, and I had to agree--it was love at first bite. The only candied sweet potato recipe I will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is the only yam recipe I'll ever make. I've been making this recipe for over 10 years, and everybody in the family loves it. Wherever I take it, I get requests for the recipe. I've shared it with neighbors, and they ask me to make it the next year. It's absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hsrudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States