Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I don't cook with sweet potatoes often, so I accidentally peeled them BEFORE boiling them - not sure if that makes a difference in taste, but I'm aware it probably took me a little extra time. I cut the recipe down to 1/3 the original (to serve 4 - there's only two of us to feed!) and it was the perfect amount with some leftovers. I followed everyone's advice and toned the butter down a little bit. I used a ceramic baking dish similar to a LeCreuset for the oven bit. This dish came out super delicious and sweet and yummy! Would make again and keep this recipe in the rotation (with the notes to go easy on the butter!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was perfect. This was my first time cooking Christmas dinner for my boyfriend and I. I followed the directions exactly (over boiled the potatoes just a tad). Also I couldn't find my nutmeg so I used a dash of All Spice and it was great. Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the BEST sweet potato recipe ever! I had been searching for a sweet potato "keeper" for a few years. Found this one, made it for Thanksgiving and the family begged for it for Christmas again! I have a feeling it will be an ongoing request. Super easy to make. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Perfect. I used the Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, which uses 1/2 the amount of brown sugar. So I reduced the butter/margarine to 1 Cup like others have done. This made it easier to use the Splenda equivalent of 1 Cup of brown sugar. Everything else was exactly as the recipe said and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbie3
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Best recipe I have tried, I added crushed pecans gave it a crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Big hit at Thanksgiving so now it is a request for a side dish to go with the Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is the best sweet potato dish I've ever made. I did bake the potatoes instead of boiling them. Not sure if that affects the taste or not. I also added a tiny bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Everyone loved these! I even messed up and overcooked the marshmallows instead of browning them they ended up melted into the pan. OH WELL they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States