Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Way too sweet & buttery as written. Decrease the Brown sugar to 3/4 C (my husband even thought that was too sweet) & butter to 1/2 C. I used 1/8t nutmeg & 1/4t cinnamon& added 1 t vanilla. Overall a good recipe w/ changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Burke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I didn't make enough! I couldn't keep up with the demand at the Thanksgiving table. This was a great fun dish to make. Definitely cut the butter and brown sugar in half. I did, and it was still sweet. You could probably cut back even more than half. I will probably try that next time. Save the calories but still have a deliciously sweet dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used a 30 oz can of sweet potatoes, cut the butter a little, threw in some mini marshmallows & followed the rest of the directions. It seems foolproof. Turned out delicious & loved by all. Easiest Candied Sweet Potatoes ever!!! Served 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Let me first say that I like my sweet potatoes sweet, so I loved this recipe. Like others, I cut used half the amount of butter and brown sugar and it had plenty of sweetness. I will make this recipe again. I put these in the oven with another dish that was at 365 degrees and it worked out just fine. After I took out the main dish, I brought the temp back down and popped the potatoes back in the oven after covering with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I don't know where the "candied" part comes in because these were more like sweet potatoes in brown sugar sryup. They were not candied at all. I will try baking the raw potatoes in the brown sugar mix and see if they will thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I only used 1/2 cup butter, but everything else I did as directed. I never thought I liked sweet potatoes, I was wrong! Thank you for a delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: Westport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love Sweet pototos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this last thanksgiving, used salted butter and added vanilla extract and used pumpkin pie spice (bc when u shop late nutmeg doesn't exist!) My mom said I can't even think about coming over unless I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The best I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
looks good! Wont be trying it until tomorrow, but I've already poured most of a cup of butter off the top. Update: Everyone loved it. It is bloody awful for you, but really good. I stirred the mashed sweet potatoes into the marshmallow sauce for about half an hour until it was smooth and condensed down, than poured it over 1 inch slices of boiled sweet potato in a 9x11 glass pan. baked as recommended. The marshmellows on the top mostly just dissipated into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States