Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
this was so much better than from a can sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicavermilye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is the best recipe for Candied Sweet Potatoes I've ever tried. The family enjoyed them so much for Thanksgiving! Peeled half the potatoes, mashed separately in sauce, then chopped remaining potatoes and folded into mashed mixture. I did decrease the butter and brown sugar to 3/4 cup ea. Easy to make - great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent! I did cut back on the butter and sugar by 50% after reading previous reviews. I normally do not alter the recipe on the 1st try. This was a total hit. It was not to sweet and lots of compliments. I did add some toasted pecans as a garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was incredible!! All of my Thanksgiving guests loved it! I added a splash of vanilla and a squirt of maple syrup to it as I was mixing it as well. It was delicious!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Prepared as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was super sweet but SUPER GOOD!! It was beautiful when the marshmallows plumped up in the oven but when I took it out the marshmallows slowly went down and didn't look the best to present. That's the only thing I didn't like but the taste... AMAZING :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Fantastic recipe! It was a tad sweet for me (and I have a sweet tooth), so next time I'll reduce the butter and sugar, and perhaps some of the marshmallows in the sauce. Was a huge hit at Thanksgiving yesterday; will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
For some reason I thought each stick of butter was equal to 1/4 C... I "cut back" the butter to 3 sticks (1 1/2 C) and when I put the marshmallows on top and browned them, they slowly started disintegrating. Needless to say, I added more butter than the recipe called for but they were soooo yummy. Everyone loved them too, fortunately. I only added a sprinkle of cinnamon and omitted the nutmeg altogether, afraid of over-spicing, and used the full amount of sugar. In the future I would probably keep the butter at 3/4-1 C, and the sugar to 3/4 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Just made this dish yesterday or Thanksgiving dinner. This dish was my husbands favorite out of everthing on the table. I didn't have to change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was so easy and was so yummy. I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States