Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a wonderful dish that was a HUGE success with my very diverse and picky family. I made two alterations: (1) because I'm not a big marshmallow fan I replaced the marshmallows on top with pecans, which provided a nice crunchy texture and cut down on the overall sweetness of the dish (2) just prior to making this dish I realized I didn't have enough fresh sweet potatoes so I used a combination of fresh and canned so I used a can of sweet potatoes (that I broke apart with a fork) to thicken the sauce and then stirred in larger chunks of the fresh sweet potatoes. No one could tell the difference and it was a great way to use up the canned sweet potatoes! I will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excellent, simple recipe. Followed the recipe as listed and topped the dish with chopped pecans before layering with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a complete hit with my family. Everyone loved it, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Best sweet potatoes ever! Everyone single kid and adult liked them....even one who has hated them for 40 years! Used 1/2 c butter, 3/4 c. brown sugar and maybe 3 lb of potatoes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I cut this recipe in half and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I love this recipe. It is so delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving 2012 and my family devoured the dish. This was the one dish that there were no leftovers when I started packing up the food that night. Thank you DJ for this recipe. It really is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anayaelf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Wonderful! Put half the margarine and that was still too much. But everyone loved it! Glad I tried to make it. First time I have ever made sweet potatoes (my mom usually makes them). I peeled them though. The recipe did not say to do this but it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and at the same time everyone enjoyed it. Due to the fact that I am pregnant, I enjoyed it the most!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meanhilary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I thought this was great! I think the times need to be adjusted though. Prep time was more like 40 mins to get the sweet potatoes softened and ready to cook. After that, everything else seems to be right. Also, using previous recommendations I adjusted the brown sugar and marshmallows. I used only half of what it said so thats: 3/4 Cup of margerine (I used butter) 3/4 Cup of brown sugar Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States