Candied Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I didn't have a problem at all with this recipe, and the lemon simple syrup that is left over is wonderful for lemon drop cocktails! In fact, I'm now using this recipe for making the syrup and not the other way around! Anyway, I prefer my candied peel to be dry and crunchy. So I leave it out in the air for a few days before storing it in an airtight container. While "curing", I shake the peels around a few times, to help separate them and keep them from turning into big blobs of candy. Once they're fully dry, they don't stick together unless they get damp. I also don't store mine in the refrigerator, but in the cupboard. Some people complained of bitterness. It is probably more to do with the lemons themselves and not with the recipe. The Meyer lemons I used are too thin-peeled to really get all of the pith off, and they came out fine. I just tried one more method for getting the peel in thin strips, without the rind. I used a citrus peeler (mine is attached to my zester, but if your zester doesn't have a peeler attached, you want the kind that bartenders use). I peeled the lemon in one long thin strip, spiraling around the lemon. If you have a spiral of peel left over, you can use your fingernail to peel it off. Make sure you chop the strips up a little bit, so that they don't get hopelessly tangled during the boiling process. I only chopped my pile into thirds, which is enough to keep most of the strips fairly long (if you want it that way) without tangling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Really good, but harder to make than you might expect. It's not easy to get the rind cut into strips, and they are really sticky aftern coated with the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Really fun to make and it's just like eating candy, but with a fresh citrus taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
So easy and so wonderful for decorating. I sprinkled them with sugar afterwards to give them a sugary look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
A very good recipe. I used orange peel and rolled in granulated sugar afterwards and dipped in milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This made great candied lemon for Christmas stollen! A little more bitter than I was anticipating, but it is a lemon we are dealing with here! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~canyon~

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My favorite candied citrus peel is grapefruit, where you actually WANT the white part. To avoid bitterness, bring cold water and peel to a rolling boil. Drain. Repeat. For orange peel, I might do this one or two times; for grapefruit, 6 or 7. Taste it. When the peel is tender, cook it in the sugar syrup. It should be almost translucent. It keeps for weeks (months?) refrigerated – store it in syrup to keep it from drying out. I love this stuff. I candy my own orange & lemon peels for fruitcakes and other desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Delicious! I used a veggie peeler to get only the yellow portion of the lemon peel. This resulted in tender strips of peel. I minced the finished candied lemon peel and added it to the Lemon Icing recipe from this site. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I made it exactly as said. I ended up with bitter peels and bitter simple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States