Campfire Foil Packs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
we always masde this when I went camping as a kid...but we would use hamburger, onions and carrots (subbing for the chicken and peppers) and keeping all the rest of the recipie. LOVED it every time... I have made it at home in the oven too, never as good as on the campfire though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Gaub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
We used frozen hashbrowns and they were great! We did as suggested and just left them in the cooler, it was a nice change from the usual camping food...thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aussiemum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend and he ate three of the four! He loved it! I made it in the oven at 375 degrees for about an hour. I also added mushrooms and left out the carrots. I'll have to double it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
GREAT... We call it HOBO STEW... and we use 2 tbl spoons of butter, stew meat, potatoes, carrots and oins...just throw it on the fire and 20 min there done... then we add sour cream and hot sause... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreaahvcom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I have made these many times, every time we go camping! I do have changes though that make it really good. I use hamburger instead of chicken. I also use potatoes, green peppers and onions. Lastly, I do not use oil, it makes the food really oily, I put a little butter and 2 ice cubs in the foil, this keeps everything really moist. I will put some of each in nonstick foil, throw in fire...and you have a fantastic dinner. Add some corn on the cob and you have a mighty fine dinner with almost no cleanup! Try it on the grill too, just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Since campfires are not an option for us, I either grill these packets, or bake them in my oven. My only change is to leave the chicken cubes out of the packets--but not out of our meal. If grilling, I cook the chicken on skewers, and if baking, I stir-fry the chicken until lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very good! I added some extra veggies, like green beans, carrots, ect. My husband hates green beans, so let me tell you, I was absolutely shocked when I saw him eat one and say he thought it was really good! So any recipe that does something like that for my husband deserves a five star rating! Instead of smaller sheets of aluminium foil, find the extra long, heavy duty foil. We only used two long sheets of it. Very, very good recipe that we will use again when we go camping (or just over the hot coals of our grill)! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
The kids thought this was such an adventure while we were camping, It was a easy way to start off our trip. With 6 kids with us every one could create their pack the way they liked it. I pre-cut the veggies,that made it real fast when we got to camp. The best part was everyone put it on a paper plate so no dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I made these for a camping trip but i used cube steak instead of chicken. Delicious! We put them right on the Q grill and kept flipping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is just like one of the recipes I recreated at home from my years of summer camp in the '60s. It's a great go-to when you have a house full of people or disjointed schedules. A few tricks. We often have veggie trays with dinner and make foil packs, using the leftovers, the next night. If it don't have leftovers to use, I cut up a variety of vegetables ahead of time and put them in individual plastic bags. Everyone makes their own. We just double heavy duty foil and do it envelope style. Potatoes cook best if they're on the bottom of the pack. Season to your individual tastes. Salt, pepper, taco seasoning, chili powder, chicken seasoning . . . Use chicken, ground pork, beef or chicken/turkey - whatever you like - but crumble it at the top of your pile and place a small ice cube on top. You can add ketchup, steak sauce, taco or enchilada sauce to the top before sealing and .cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States