Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I've made this twice. The first time I used canned beans and cheese soup, and although mushy, the flavor was really good. This past week I made it again with fresh green beans (which I steamed ahead of time to pre-cook them) and mushroom soup and we didn't care for it at all. Hubby and I both had one helping, and the rest sat in the fridge before I finally tossed it. My recommendation would be to use fresh green beans and cheddar soup, but I'm not sure I'll make it again. There are so many other delicious sides to have on Thanksgiving instead of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
We have this at every holiday! Love love love it. I do not add the soy sauce, instead I add a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce, a sprinkle of garlic powder and onion powder and I don't add a whole cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. Like others have said it was a tad watery and salty. I think, that can be an easy fix by reducing the milk and soy sauce back some next time. I used 1 50oz drained can of green beans, for 1/2 the recipe and it was real close to what I needed. I would go that route if using canned to save money as the recipe does take quite a bit of green beans. As so many people like this, I would consider making it as a quick throw together side dish on Thanksgiving with slight modifications. I do like the idea of the cheddar on top under the footnotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I cut the recipe in half and used less milk. It turned out good, a nice creamy sauce with crunchy onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This casserole is a must for our Thanksgiving table. This recipe is similar to the one I use. It was good but I'd skip the soy sauce and use less milk as it was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've been making this casserole for years. I use fresh green beans and never add milk or soya sauce. It's perfect with just the mushroom soup, some grated cheddar cheese and french fried onions. I also do the same with fresh broccoli and cauliflower, using 2 cans of soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made the recipe as written. Next time I might leave out the soy sauce. It is really good with fresh green beans and the french onions. It is your traditional Thanksgiving green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I love green bean casserole, and this recipe is a classic. I made a couple of changes, using worchershire sauce instead of soy since I prefer it. I also added 8 oz. sliced mushrooms. I thought that with the added volume, a full cup of milk would be appropriate, despite the reviews saying that the full cup was too much. I was wrong, the full cup was still a little much, although I think after being stored (in the fridge, of course) and reheated it may thicken. But straight out of the oven it was pretty runny. The hardest thing about this recipe was waiting for it to cool so that I could dig in. And the 10 minutes estimated prep time for me included clean up time as well, it was VERY simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Many people love this recipe, and I really tried to like it. Even with my tweaks, I prefer other ways to prepare green beans. I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings, decreased the milk by half, left out the soy sauce, and added 4 pieces of crisp bacon. Bacon helps this, but it still won't make it to my holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States