Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This ice cream is SO yummy! It was the perfect creaminess! Not too thick! I thought the cake batter taste wasn't too strong, you could maybe add a litte more, but I thought it was good as it. The only difference I did was use vanilla bean paste in place of the vanilla extract. I do that with all my homemade ice cream. This recipe is for sure a keeper that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
For once my homemade ice cream turned out great! Very yummy. I used devil's food cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Best homemade icecream I've ever made! Huge hit. I added about a capful of almond extract and it gave it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is the best ice cream I've ever made! I think I cheated & added a little more cake mix than directed, but it was sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Phenomenal! Made it just as written, and wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spoonstyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I managed to make this ice cream like my "local creamery" by trial & error...I don't have an ice cream maker, so I put the mixture in a covered glass casserole dish in the freezer, whisking every 30 minutes until set up. The first day it was ok...a little soft & not exactly tasting as rich as the "creamery's." We left the rest in the freezer overnight, which resulted in a really hard lump. 60 seconds in the microwave resulted in a creamy, delicious treat that's a mirror image of what you'd buy at the mall. With my favorite mix-ins, I won't be spending $4.95 on the same thing anytime soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burnt Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This turned out excellant will definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
The major ice cream manufacturer's should take note of this recipe, because this is the most true form of cake batter ice cream I have tasted. It is comparable to Cold Stone Creamery's Cake Batter Ice Cream. I added 1 cup of yellow cake mix, which is just a little more than the recipe calls for. I realized after I began making this that the recipe required a ice cream maker, but have no fear, you can make this without one with success! Let your mixture cool in the freezer for 20 minutes and then pour into a large casserole dish or a cake pan. Freeze for 20-30 minute increments and take out in between and beat the ice cream with a hand mixer. I only had to freeze and beat the ice cream 4 times until it was done. I honestly think I will never buy ice cream again. This was easy and you could easily use a chocolate cake mix too. This is not runny at all as some other reviewers said, make sure you use the correct ingredients. For the milk, I used whole milk and make sure you do not substitute the heavy cream for anything else. This is a CREAMY ice cream, not an icy ice cream. **Update** I have since purchased a Kitchen-Aid Ice Cream Attachment and I use that and it works great. I have used both white cake mix and yellow cake mix and the white cake mix tasted "off" so I highly suggest using yellow cake mix for a more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Quite a nice tasting ice cream, makes a change from the usual flavors, Vanilla, chocolate etc. I did have to use yellow cake mix (all I had in the pantry, not something I really stock) also used just half and half. Made this first thing this morning, and its still quite sloppy (Maybe something to do with the fact I only used half and half). I am pretty sure it will be fine tomorrow (I have had to have a taste sample of course and its good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Oh my goodness, there should be a law against this, this is very good i mean very very very good. i just finished making this and just had a taste and its like heaven on earth. I had cake batter cake once and it was so good, this tasted nothing like what i remember but this is still so great. it does taste just like cake batter, its so smooth and creamy and all and all very easy to make. i will make this again and again. my only problem is it does not make a lot, not that i need it but geez this was excellent. you have to try this, also i tasted this as it was cooking and i knew then i was gonna love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States