Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I hate to be the ogre who gives the thumbs down, but this is not quite right. To me, it tasted like custard. Also, for ice cream shop (c.s. in particular, which I am a frequent customer of) cake batter ice cream, there is a distinct (for lack of a better term) "powdery" taste, which I love. It makes it actually taste like cake mix. IF i were to try and make this again I would do a full cup of mix. Also, when cooking it, my mixture jumped quickly from 150 degrees all the way to 175. I'll watch that more carefully, in case that added to the 'custardy' flavor. Decent, but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Pretty good - needs some changes as some of the reviews suggested but tried it as is first. Will make again using more cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is the best ice cream I've ever had. Seriously, I'm tempted to go back in the kitchen right now and get more. I can't imagine any way that this could be made better. Smooth, tasty, and very similar to what you can buy at the ice cream shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The first time I attempted to make this my house was crazy and I was slightly distracted and instead of 3/4 cup cake mix I added almost the entire box of cake mix. Needless to say it came out extremely thick and more cakey than ice cream haha...second attempt was a much better success and very easy to follow if you actually read the measurements and very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was yummy but I'll definitely make some tweaks next time. I added a full cup of cake mix as some of the reviewers suggested but I think the cake batter flavor was a little overwhelming so I'll stick to 3/4 cup next time. Also, the mixture formed large clumps at the bottom even though I was stirring constantly over medium/low heat. Not sure how I'll avoid this next time. Finally, make sure you freeze the ice cream before serving, I served it immediately and it was a little too custard-y (we froze the leftovers and they were so much better). FYI I used the Kitchenaid ice cream attachment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
It's cake batter, it's ice cream, it's delicious! This is a rich and creamy treat that I will make again. I did follow others advice by upping the cake mix to 1 cup. Can't wait to try it with yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
great recipe. I made mine with red velvet cake mix and pieces of red velvet cake it turned out perfect. I did add 1 cup of milk and 4 egg yolks to make it more custard like. Also, it is better to add the cake mix and cream after you cook the yolks, sugar, and milk to keep it from being so thick and cooking the cake mix. great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Tastes EXACTLY like the Cake Batter ice cream at Coldstone. Delicious. Used 1 cup yellow cake mix instead of 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapna Bhatia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Im sure it is great if using the right cake mix. DO NOT use funfettie cake mix. I will try this again but with a yellow cake mix like another user suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States