Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I made this without an ice cream maker. I just stuck it in the freezer and took it out and whipped it with a hand mixer every 20 minutes. The result was ridiculous good! It's so rich and creamy and just plain yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
First time we made it we all thought it was great. A couple weeks later I made it again and the response was more tepid. It's easy enough to make and comes out exactly as advertised. It's ok ice cream, but I think I'll keep looking for a recipe I really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Oh My Goodness Gracious. This is the easily the best ice cream I've ever made. It's creamy and easy and soooo delicious! The second time I tried using half and half in place of heavy cream and it turned out just as creamy and delicious, and less fat! (I know, it's ICE CREAM, but why not :P ) This recipe is infinitely versatile, you really could use any flavour of cake mix... or brownie mix, mmmm! I tried it with a cherry chip cake mix, and oh my, oh my! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I used Funfetti cake mix and it turned out amazing. The only other thing I changed was I omitted using eggs. I also just whisked all the ingredients together and threw it into the ice cream maker. The kids said it tasted like cupcake ice cream. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DairyQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This ice cream was really really good :) it was rich and creamy and i used a yellow cake mix instead of white and it still tasted great kind of like a rich frosting will definitely make again and again. i have made this recipe time and again and its always turned out wonderful for me :) you could change it into a regular ice cream by omitting the cake mix and adding whatever flavors you like chocolate pieces, cookie dough, and mint extract are all the flavors i've added and theyve all come out wonderful this is definitely my go to base recipe when i make ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinaydancercv3

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious & comparable to Cold Stone Creamery's. I used a yellow cake mix & upped the amount from 3/4 to one cup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I made this with a cup of the cake batter and accidently bought half and half rather than whipping cream. Still tastes like the real thing! Mixed in sprinkles, brownie bits, and fudge. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Amazing! I used yellow butter cake mix and skim milk (because skim milk might make a difference with all of that cream?) and the results were better than I could have imagined! Tasty and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Holy Smokey the Bear!! I could almost hear the loudspeaker last night: "step away from the ice cream!" The only change I made was half and half in place of cream. Deadly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I didn't want to cook the mixture so I left out the eggs. I also used 1 cup of milk and 2 cups of 1/2 & 1/2. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States