Buttermilk Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is the closest I have found to my dad's secret recipe. He use to make us the best pancakes ever & stored the recipe in his head. Such fond childhood memories, dad's weekend breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Horsekrazee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This recipe passed my daughters high standards for pancakes and even my pancake-hating wife liked them very much! One secret weapon that I have for pancakes is a 60 year old Westinghouse electric griddle that is on its third generation, it never screws up, pancake after pancake are uniformly perfect. To think that I almost turned my nose up at it when my mother offered it to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made 2/3 batch using low fat buttermilk and 0% milk. These pancakes came out great in terms of both flavor and texture. I suspect that "do not over mix" is a key instruction for this recipe. Heaping 1/4 cup scoops made nice sized pancakes, and 2/3 of the recipe made a dozen pancakes. Very filling pancakes, we were each full after having two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I really wasn't impressed with the recipe. My pancakes were flat, not fluffy and the flavour wasn't what I like. I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Tried these for the first time today. I have a hard time making pancakes and keeping them fluffy. This recipe SAVED me! So easy to do; even if you don't have buttermilk and need to do the cup of milk with table spoon of white vinegar trick, they turn out incredible! My husband gave it two thumbs up. We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
The flavor of the batter was good, to a point. But the texture left much to be desired. They were spongy. I would call them a light pancake, but they weren't fluffy. Someone might be tempted to call them that, because they were very light, but rather than a fluffy cake-like texture, they were mostly air, and the result led to a very oily pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diabolique

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
These are so delicious! Definitely allow the eggs milk and buttermilk to come to room temperature. I also sifted all my dry ingredients and made a well in the center to pour and mix my wet ingredients. These are just like the "good old fashioned" pancakes, except they use buttermilk. This gives them an even richer, more buttery taste. One last tip, I let the batter set for about ten minutes while I fry up my bacon on my griddle. I then use an old (clean!) ketchup bottle to dispense the batter. Five stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
These were very good, I do believe I have found my pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Best pancakes ever... this is a new family favourite :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wow! These pancakes exceeded my expectations. They cooked perfectly, looked great and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,078) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States