Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
The are sooooo good warm from the oven. And if you're feeling decadent, butter them! Soft, sweet and oaty. The only change I made was to add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. It will work to sub applesauce for the oil, but of course the muffins won't be quite as luscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These were moist and easy to make. They were not the most flavorful muffins ever, but they were a perfect, everyday snack. They were a hit w/ my 4 & 2 yr old boys because they weren't too overwhelming... not too sugary, not too "healthy"!! I added a splash of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon. I didn't have quick oats, but the regular worked just fine. I'll make these again to have sitting around for the Christmas weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Amazingly moist and delicious! I used honey instead of brown sugar (didn't have any around) and still turned out absolutely wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
My mom actually has been making these muffins for years with the exact same recipe. It is one of my favorite foods ever! I highly recommend these muffins for a special (or everyday) breakfast, or just to have around for snacking! mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These are very good and moist. I did use old fashioned oats and really liked the texture, taste. I accidentally used 1 1/2 cups buttermilk and oats, used one egg, same amount of oil and sugar, then realized i had done that. I then added some extra flour and 1/4 teaspoon more of baking soda and flour after I realized but kept other proportions the same. they came out fine. Everyone liked them, thank goodness bc I just bought a 25 lb bag of old fashioned oats by accident !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I have made these several times since I found this recipe, sometimes with raisins, sometimes without. Both ways are delicious, moist muffins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIOGITI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mixco, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Excellent! I made these to use up some buttermilk I had leftover from making homemade butter. I used a little wheat flour in place of a little of the white flour, and I think I could have gotten away with 1/2 and 1/2. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
oh my goodness, these were fantastic! so easy to make and so delicious, my husband had three before i had eaten my first one. i added cinnamon and vanilla and they gave quite a nice touch. i'll definitely be making these again and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I love these muffins. When I increase the ingredients to make 12 instead of 8, I use one whole egg + one egg yolk. Also, I substitute melted butter for the oil and I add a generous amount of freshly grated nutmeg. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
i added a few berries on the tops of each and lightly pressed them into the batter just before i put them in the oven....they turned out great! i also added a tsp of both vanilla and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States