Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I changed it up a bit to suite my tastes. I was really craving chocolate at the time! So I added 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, and 1/2 cup of dark chocolate baking chips. I also subbed out the brown sugar for honey and the flour for whole wheat flour. Healthy and delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Appie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I love that these are low-fat, tender from the buttermilk, and rich in fiber! I read the other reviews and prepped for expected blandness by adding cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, and chocolate chips. They were great! I made 2 batches of these for a potluck, and they were gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Bland is the kindest adjective I can say of the taste; I added both vanilla and cinnamon but neither was able to salvage these muffins. I have had boxed mixes with more flavor. I wish I could say how great they were but the only thing I ended up doing was wasting my time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOJAGRAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made these muffins exactly as written. I made them to go with chili instead of cornbread, and for that I thought they were quite good (toasted with a little butter). As a snack or breakfast muffin though, they are too bland for my taste. They were a nice texture and easy to make, so I do think I will try them again with some additions like fruit, cinnamon, or vanilla as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a wonderful basic muffin recipe. The leavening is the perfect amount and results in beautiful domes every time. The texture is moist but not overly so, almost like a heavy cake but without the sweetness. It lends itself very well to variation, although I rarely add more than vanilla and cinnamon (the equivalent of 1/2 tsp each per single batch). I never make less than a double batch, which gives me 1.5 dozen full size muffins and 1 dozen mini muffins. The minis take roughly half the time to bake as the big guys. Fabulous for breakfast or any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The kids love them. I added some cinnamon and vanilla per the reviews. Next time, I will leave them out. Three stars because the kids love them way more than my husband and I. I substituted oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made these twice..1 st as is...and they were great...but even better we thought next time w/1 1/2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 t nutmeg and about a cup or so of chopped apple...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great recipe. I've been looking for a buttermilk oatmeal muffin recipe for quite some time. I made 3 differnet batches of these muffins. I added pumpkin pie spice to all but in batch had pieces of apple, raisins in the 2nd, and chocolate chips in the 3rd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I expected to like these more than I did. These are just basic-not-too-sweet-dense-oatmeal muffins (nothing wrong with that) but there isn't anything really standout-ish about them. The simple addition of cinnamon or toasted pecans would really take these from so-so to so tempting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Muffins rose to lovely heights. Delicious! Freeze nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States