Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These are so bland!!! And I even added vanilla and lemon zest. I wouldn't give up on it yet though, because the texture and moist-ness is great --- just add a bunch of extras (i.e. blueberries, vannilla, lemon, cinnamon, etc.!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These are nice and moist and I do like them, but I also agree with the reviewer who found them a bit bland, even with the additions -- I think it's because they are more like a dinner roll, for buttering or dipping in soup, than a breakfast muffin. I made them with regular--not quick cooking--oats, which turned out fine. I added the vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg suggested by other reviewers. The nutmeg was a bit much -- if I make these again I will stick with just the vanilla and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The recipe as it is makes muffins with a lovely texture, and it is also quite easy. The taste, however, is a bit bland. I would be sure to add spices, dried fruit, jam, nuts, or some other good. Good basis, but only a perfect finished recipe gets five stars from me! My changes: I added vanilla, cinnamon, clove, ginger, nutmeg, and walnuts. I also used some grated apple, but that was just to cut down on fat. The oil ratio is absolutely fine here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made these with less sugar and whole wheat flour instead of white. I agree that they could use a little more flavor...I forgot to add vanilla, cinnamon or nutmeg as suggested. But, they are also good as-is or with blueberries or chocolate chips inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I liked the texture and will make these again. I felt like they needed something, though. It's an easy recipe to alter, so I plan on playing around with it a little. Thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetotravel
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I followed this as a base recipe to use ingredients that I had on hand. I used canola oil, a combination of bread and whole wheat flour, blueberries-and-cream instant oatmeal mixed with old fashioned and added cinnamon and frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delish!! I am unable to follow a recipe exactly, so here are the changes I made: I added 1 t vanilla to the buttermilk/oat mixture, subbed 1/4 c oat bran for 1/4 cup of the flour, used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white flour and cut the salt to 1/4 t. I also added 1/3 c each dried cherries and sliced almonds, but I will probably experiment with other fruit & nut combinations. It comes out fantastic! So light and fluffy, even with my "healthifying" substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These were amazing! So moist and delicious. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used Greek-style yogurt (full-fat), so maybe that's why they were so rich. My only complaint is that they came close to burning at the edges and I had to turn the oven way down. I'll cook them at 375 next time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are a great muffin. I can use up extra sour milk or buttermilk when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
2.19.12A good & healthy muffin - especially when you soak the oats for an hour (or more to plump them up); sub whole wheat flour & melted margarine; add a teaspoon vanilla & 3/4-1c blueberries. It's the same recipe except increase baking powder to 1 1/2t. I used 3/4c white sugar (since it was my first time) & it was good & not too sweet. I think the whole wheat flour might "need" a little more sugar, but I'll try less & brown next time. Did mine at 350 for 30. BOTH kids (11 & 13) like 'em! WOW. :D April2012: Dbl recipe Used 2coats; 2c buttermilk; 2t vanilla;; 2eggs; 1c white sugar; 1/4c melted butter; 1/4c olive oil; 1c white, 1c whole wheat flour; 1T bp; 1t bsoda, 1t salt' 1/2t cinnamon. 'Made 12 as listed. Added 1c blueberries to remaining 12. W berries, sweet enough. W/o, not. Really needs fruit to sweetenit up. More cinnamon either way.1/13 Double recipe using 1c brown sugar, melted 1/2c SmartBalance, 2c blueberries, 1t cinnamon. Made 24 muffs, baked at 375 (using frozen berries) for 20. (375 for 20 works, too) Healthy tasting, but not so much that you don't want to eat them. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States