Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Oh these were so good. The texture is light and fluffy not too dense at all. They were lightly sweetened so could still add a bit of jam if that is your preference. But they are perfection on their own. I did add a tsp of cinnamon - just for a touch of flavour as I seem unable to cook without the use of one spice or another. Oh and didn't have buttermilk but the milk and vinegar combo worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
The texture was perfect, however, the taste is rather bland, which may be great for some as a dinner bread. I will make them again, but I will use butter instead of oil, increase the sugar a little and maybe add some walnuts and/or cinnamon. And maybe a cinnamon crumb topping. That's it!! I just solved the issue on my own! Seriously, though - the texture was exactly what I was looking for in a muffin. And now that I'm thinking about it a little more, they were pretty amazing with strawberry jelliy on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
The greatest part about these muffins is the endless possibilities. This is a great basic recipe which is good on its own, but can be tinkered with in many ways to make so many kinds of muffins. I have added a tsp of cinnamon to mine b/c my family loves it, but I can imagine this recipe would be good with fruits too (apple, blueberries, banana even). Thanks for a delicious, useful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colbert, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Not very good. I just pulled these out of the oven and had a taste, my kids are going to be very disappointed! I even added cinnamon, nutmeg and chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
These are my first attempt at Oat Muffins and I'm very pleased. These muffins have a nice, light texture and are very moist. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon just because I always add it when I cook oatmeal to serve hot. The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is becaue I think they would be perfect with the additon of some type of fruit. Small chunks of apple or banana (and the cinnamon) would make these 5 star muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Good muffin with the addition of a small amount of spice. Will try the grated apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
A great basic muffin recipe. Definitely add spices and other ingredients if you want flavour as this is just a base recipe. The muffins were very moist and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ospooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
These muffins are tender and delicious! I made the recipe exactly as written. They are moist and have a nice flavour. I make a LOT of muffins as my family eats them every day for breakfast and the kids take them in their school lunches so I am always trying new recipes. My only change is that next time I will try adding nuts or chocolate chips, or dried cranberries or something for texture, a little more brown sugar, maybe 1/4 c more, and a tsp of vanilla. All in all, a really GOOD recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent breakfast muffin! I doubled the recipe, used kefir instead of buttermilk, used 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugar, added 2 teaspoons vanilla, and threw in one chopped-up milk chocolate almond candy bar, as well as about a cup of frozen raspberries. It was AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These turned into my absolute favorite muffin base. I have made them (separately, of course) with chocolate chips, cranberries, blueberries, apples, and several different kinds of nuts and spices, and have perfect oatmeal muffins every time. For those complaining of bland taste, I found this recipe in the muffin collection, listed as a basic recipe, I took it to mean I could add whatever flavors I wanted to it, and I was right :D My suggestion is to experiment to find a flavor (or many) that suits your tastes and wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States