Buddy's and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was my first attempt at making dog food at home. It is a raving success. "Buster," our 7 year old Beagle mix rescue dog devoured it on the very first serving and continues to do so. After several days on it now, I can say that it treats him and his digestive system much better than the very expensive dry commercial dog food we were feeding him. This recipe is a bit time consuming and I will check this site for other dog recipes, but I will make this one again. The only other issue is that he would not eat the kidney beans, so I'll maybe double up on the rice. This recipe made 8 pints and he gets two of them a day. Checking on the calories, this falls within the requirements for a 28 1/2 pound dog, and allows for a milk bone or two a day. I'll do some checking on the need for any additives, but like one blogger said, "Yeah, and where do they come from?" Thanks for a great recipe from me and from Buster- his tail wags constantly while "dining" now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chantellette
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe is awesome! It's a bit of a bummer that it takes so long to make, but if that's what it takes to have a healthy puppy, I think I can sacrifice the time. I decided to make this after I had been feeding her top of the line store bought dog food; she started itching herself excessively (even though she gets advantage regularly) and her ears were getting smelly and funky (even though I clean them with a solution regularly). I'm losing faith in commercial dog food and with all of the recalls lately, I'd rather feed my dog something I know is safe! I used fresh broccoli and spinach and chopped them up into TINY pieces for my 4lb dog. She gobbled this down so quickly, it was amazing. I will update my review after I've been feeding this to her for a while, but definitely the prettiest and best smelling dog food I've ever seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantellette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
My dogs started this in January, there is less waste and my beagle's ears are no longer full of wax/allergy ick ALL the time. I had tried all the no grain high end specialty foods and pre-packaged raw foods but the dogs responded better to this. I wish I had before and after videos of their energy and and health issues. Give it a try. Lastly, since I have three dogs I added Lentils to make the recipe more cost effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
A very good base..and ratio of veggies, carbs and meat... Rachel Ray had a similar one...she gave me the idea of 1 bunch parsley, chopped, added at the end not cooked... My dog has cancer and I need to restrict carbs. I use lots of greens. My vet had me use pumpkin. But what I want to share is that it needs calcium and the vet said to give him 2 Tums. Heck with that.... I put it in a pressure cooker, the bones dissolved, no kidding. I add liver, at the end and change veggies as I find them. I will never use store dog food again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I'm making my 3rd batch today (making a double batch finally, this recipe only lasts for 5 days with our big doggy!) and she's been doing great on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valleyview, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This recipe is a miracle. My little Yorkie won't eat a thing. He was under weight and he would starve himself. I tried every dog food under the sun. The first time I made this recipe he gobbled it down plate after plate. He has been on a diet of this food only for about 4 months now and he is a completely different dog. He is happy, a good weight, energetic, basically everything you want for your little best friend. Now when his plate is empty and he is hungry he barks for me to fill it. Thanks so much for this amazing recipe. It's easy and 1 batch lasts me a few weeks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This really tasted great, but after a few days of eating the leftovers, I hurt my back trying to lick myself. I'm doing much better now, and am getting more and more flexible. Maybe someday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
My chihuahua loves this food! Thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Both my dog and cat love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I have 2 dogs, an average sized male Doberman with typical skin allergies, and a donkey sized Mastiff. This food is great for them both, not to mention cheaper. My dogs love this food so much I have to watch them eat so they don't steal food from each others' bowls. When I fed them the food that costs $65 for a 35lb bag they would sit and stare at me, or leave food in the bottom of the bowl. Not anymore. My personal additives: pork roast since I have one dog with a beef allergy, but cook it VERY thoroughly, dogs can get trichinosis too. I've also added asparagus, and a tablespoon of plain yogurt with live cultures just before serving to cut down on the gas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDTISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bayside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States