Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I got this recipe from AR years ago; and make it for family vacation all the time. I have used the semi-ssweet chocolate; but I have also used Dark Chocolate, they are all great that way. Also, I make them small about bite size, and after they set I freeze them on a cookie sheet; then dump in a zip lock bag. They are so good cold, Just take out of freezer and pop in mouth - YUMMYl. Everyone looks forward to them when we go to the beach, and by freezing they travel easy in ice chest, and last a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I'm not able to review this appropriately because I used Costco's new "all natural" peanut butter, which caused a total flop on the recipe and a waste of a lot of money and time! DO NOT use this peanut butter for this recipe! It is not pre-stirred and it is FULL of oil, which causes all sorts of problems with consistency and your buckeye balls come out super oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These are SO good!! Little on the sweet side but otherwise they were GREAT!!! I making my second batch in 3 days now!! Hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Cohen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
First recipe that included the freezing part. When I tried a different one, that didn't include that, they fell apart when I tried to dip them. Definitely the key to success!!! Go Bucks, O-H.....I-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I have attempted to make buckeyes like 4 times. This time they turned out awesome! Firstly, I upped the peanut butter to 2 cups. Kept butter the same and only used 4 cups of sugar. Perfect sweetness! HOWEVER, be sure and get it super cold before you roll the balls or else you will have a terribly hard time forming balls. The warmth of your hands will melt and you will want to pull your hair out! Ha. After rolling uniform balls they MUST put in the freezer for about an hour to set and get nice and hard. I put the toothpicks in before I set them in the freezer. Meanwhile get the chocolate melting in a double boiler. I used 1.5 bags of 12 ounce chips with a 1/2 4oz bar of shaved parafin wax. Melt well. Paraffin wax is GREAT! Take 5 balls out of the freezer at a time to dip in the melted mixture. You will get the hang of it after awhile. There is def an art to dipping! I hope this helps avoid the nightmares I have faced trying to make these things! And remember, patience is the key :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Great Classic Recipe! This recipe makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great recipe but I personally enjoy the richness with milk chocolate and yes as most say increase the amount of chocolate but unlike some I would never throw away chocolate lol make chocolate covered pretzels with the rest :) win win if you ask me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This may have been a great recipe...that is before Nestle's changed the ingredients of their chocolate chips. Now they won't melt for dipping (tried double boiler and microwave) They just get grainy. So I looked it up and sure enough, they are adding more wax so the chips keep their shape for cookies. Suggestions were to add oil or butter, which I did, but to no avail. So now I'm looking for another source of chocolate that will work for dipping. I'll keep trying, but right now it's rather disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were really good! My husband and I were craving peanut butter and chocolate but I was out of eggs to make cookies so I made these instead. They are a little sweet for me but my husband LOVED them! The only change I made was adding 2 teaspoons of shortening to the melted chocolate. It made it smoother and easier to dip into. Next time I won't make them so big!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States