Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made this for years since I have a lot of people who prefer buckeyes over cookies. I add 1 cup graham cracker (that I have crushed to a fine powder )and it gives a little more stability. You can't taste it either. try melting the chocolate in a chocolate pot if you have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
A LITTLE PRICEY BUT OH SO GOOD ! MY HUBBY LOVES ANYTHING WITH PEANUT BUTTER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I tried and was not impressed. I will continue to use mine. I like it best.This one is way to crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This recipe was helpful for my first time making these. However, I do agree that I would up the peanut butter and less sugar. They were very sweet. But over all this was very easy and a good basis to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
When it says the mixture will be dry, that's no kidding. Even after rolling into balls, you couldn't get the toothpick in without splitting them open. So I went ahead and put them in the freezer for a half hour, still inserting the toothpick caused them to split. This recipe really frustrated me because it was just WAY too dry to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I put them in the deep freezer a while to make them really frozen solid. As for the chocolate, I add about 1/4 to 1/3 cake of wax to it. They don't melt as fast when you hold them that way but don't effect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Great filling for Inside out caramel apples! It came out a little dry (though possibly my measurements were off) so I added a little peanut butter syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chossid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Simferopol, Crimea (Autonomous Republic), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
So good! It has taken me years to finally make these, one of my favorite treats of all time! This recipe did not disappoint. I was a little scared adding all that sugar that it was too crumbly, that maybe something was wrong ... nope, they rolled up great! I did follow some advice of others in that 1. I creamed the butter and peanut butter with vanilla before stirring in the sugar, and 2. refrigerated the mix for 20 minutes before rolling (not sure if this step was necessary). I wish I had made them a little smaller as I wasn't factoring they get even bigger with all that chocolate. I also should have added a little shortening or paraffin to thin out the chocolate, since it went on so thick, the 4 cups of morsels wasn't quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leah
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
i've used this recipe a few times now and i really like it. the last batch i made yesterday i couldn't use all 6 cups of sugar because it was just getting too dry to get to stick and roll. that wasn't too much of a problem, the one question i did have though is there a way to make these so that the finished product does not show the hole from the toothpick? mine have that dang hole in them so i don't think it looks as neat and pretty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
These things just didn't work out. It tasted like I was eating gross raw peanut butter cookie dough with bitter chocolate. Definitely use ONLY 4 CUPS OF CONFECTIONER'S SUGAR! 4 cups was almost too sweet, I cannot imagine 6. But all in all, I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States