Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by leah
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
i've used this recipe a few times now and i really like it. the last batch i made yesterday i couldn't use all 6 cups of sugar because it was just getting too dry to get to stick and roll. that wasn't too much of a problem, the one question i did have though is there a way to make these so that the finished product does not show the hole from the toothpick? mine have that dang hole in them so i don't think it looks as neat and pretty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
These things just didn't work out. It tasted like I was eating gross raw peanut butter cookie dough with bitter chocolate. Definitely use ONLY 4 CUPS OF CONFECTIONER'S SUGAR! 4 cups was almost too sweet, I cannot imagine 6. But all in all, I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great recipe. The only thing I do different is, I use Mercken's milk chocolate candy melts instead of the chocolate chips. Melt the milk chocolate in the microwave. So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My family loved them. Very rich and easy to make. A delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piece Of Cake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
so good!! and the toothpick trick works really well (but you don't have to put a toothpick in each one; just wait until after they freeze and then just use one or two toothpicks). Very easy, but a little time consuming. Definitely worth it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe; I make these every year for the holidays. I agree with KatyP that the recipe needs tweaking on the measurements. 2 cups peanut butter and 4 cups powdered sugar. Also, I use a full tablespoon of vanilla. They come out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Way too much sugar!! I love buckeyes and had not made them in a long time and they look beautiful, but man you get a toothache from the amount of sugar! Although if you like fudge this recipe may be for you. I read another review saying the same thing but I like to follow the recipe as given the first time. If you love super sweet stuff this recipe is for you - if not at a very minimum the sugar has to be much less. I can't say for sure how much since the ratio of dry to liquid/solid would be thrown off. I found that I didn't really need to put a toothpick in each I just used a shallow bowl and used tongs to hold them while covering the bottoms of the buckeyes. Oh yeah, you actually need the heat from your hands to roll the balls or they will just fall apart - I squeezed them at least 3-5 times before starting to roll them into a ball and they rolled very smoothly after that. Also it is VERY hands on....I am not sure I will eat these made by someone else again...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and have loved it every time. This time around I read the reviews and tried cutting the sugar down to 4 cups. I also used 1/2 a cup of unsalted butter (because I didn't have salted) and I used 1/2 cup of coconut oil as a healthy alternative. Turned out great! Next time I'll try substituting the full cup of butter with coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
wow...way too much sugar. You can make them with as little as 2 cups sugar and not lose the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States