Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Way too much sugar!! I love buckeyes and had not made them in a long time and they look beautiful, but man you get a toothache from the amount of sugar! Although if you like fudge this recipe may be for you. I read another review saying the same thing but I like to follow the recipe as given the first time. If you love super sweet stuff this recipe is for you - if not at a very minimum the sugar has to be much less. I can't say for sure how much since the ratio of dry to liquid/solid would be thrown off. I found that I didn't really need to put a toothpick in each I just used a shallow bowl and used tongs to hold them while covering the bottoms of the buckeyes. Oh yeah, you actually need the heat from your hands to roll the balls or they will just fall apart - I squeezed them at least 3-5 times before starting to roll them into a ball and they rolled very smoothly after that. Also it is VERY hands on....I am not sure I will eat these made by someone else again...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and have loved it every time. This time around I read the reviews and tried cutting the sugar down to 4 cups. I also used 1/2 a cup of unsalted butter (because I didn't have salted) and I used 1/2 cup of coconut oil as a healthy alternative. Turned out great! Next time I'll try substituting the full cup of butter with coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
wow...way too much sugar. You can make them with as little as 2 cups sugar and not lose the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out great. Don't use a mixer, use your hands. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
this is a great recipe. i make it every year for Christmas, my family loves the candy and it is always requested. when melting the chocolate for dipping the peanut butter balls, i add gulf wax. makes the chocolate very easy for dipping and gives a great shine to the candy. these often go fast around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These were good. I followed the instructions, used a double burner, Richard's Creamy Peanut butter (100% peanuts), and Ghiradhelli semi sweet chips. I refrigerated the peanut buetter balls for a couple of hours so they were really cold, and dipped the balls in batches, keeping the rest cold, so they would not "sweat". They turned out perfectly shaped like little balls. The only negative is they were really sweet! My kids of course love them but they were a bit sweet for even me, and I have a real sweet tooth. Good recipe, though next time, I will use less powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangecupcake73

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
followed other's suggestions for 4c sugar (sifted) and adding shortening to the chocolate. Also creamed the butter and pb first and mixed the sugar in 1c at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Easy and tasty too !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
definitely use a large mixer. I used a little Hamilton Beach hand mixer, the poor thing fought through it but just barely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is awesome. The longer the balls are in the freezer the more chocolate sticks to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States