Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent cookies. If you add a bit of paraffin wax to the chocolate it is easier to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Good recipe, here is a tip though....once you add ingredients and blend you need to refrigerate the dough until it's hard, it is far too sticky to roll into balls. Otherwise its great and they taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
A old fashion technique is to add Paraffin to your chocolatechips and it will stick to your peanut butter balls without a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Taste just like the buckeyes I made with my mom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catholic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have made these since I was a child and they are great. I don't actually use measured amounts anymore, though. My tips would be to mix the peanut butter, butter, vanilla, and sugar by hand. It will be a little messy, but you can make sure the texture's right (just make sure to have someone available to pour more sugar in the bowl if needed). Mixing is the perfect job for kids since messy cooking is always fun. Also microwave the chocolate with a little vegetable shortening. It is a lot quicker & easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Van

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Love this recipe!!! I triple it and throw in a dozen buckeyes with holiday gifts. Here's the best tip for easier dipping: vegetable shortening! Mix some in with the chocolate and it will stick easier and dry shinier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Great recipe but add some chocolate bark for dipping to chips and it makes the buckeyes harden faster. Another thing to try, I use white chocolate too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Bota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I'm from Ohio and have made Buckeyes with my Mom since we were little. Not sure if anyone else wrote this, but something we like to do is add Rice Krispies to the peanut butter mixture before we roll them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flbeachturtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made this for years since I have a lot of people who prefer buckeyes over cookies. I add 1 cup graham cracker (that I have crushed to a fine powder )and it gives a little more stability. You can't taste it either. try melting the chocolate in a chocolate pot if you have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States