Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These were way, way, WAY too sweet. I made them for a Christmas party and mostly everyone who ate them couldn't eat more than one because the sugar overload hurt their teeth! And I made these using no sugar added, all natural peanut butter. The taste was good, like a peanut butter easter egg, but the sweetness ruined them. I'll definitely make buckeyes again but NOT with this recipe. I'll follow other suggestions and cut the sugar, probably in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe has too much butter. The inner part needs a stronger peanut flavor and the amount of butter called for subdues it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Whomever posted this recipe clearly didn't MEASURE their powdered sugar! I measured 6 cups and it was WAY too much! Now, I have to add butter and peanut butter until I can get it to the correct consistency. Next time, I will browse the recipes more, or weigh my powdered sugar. Also, for the people that have issues with the chocolate: use the bowl over simmering water method. You will end up with a dried mess if you do it in the microwave. You'll need to work very quickly and stir the chocolate often, and start using it as soon as the chips are melted. I used this technique with a recipe that had the correct amount of powdered sugar, and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Altis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Started making this recipe about 4 years ago and it is THE cookie everyone wipes out first each year. Like others mentioned, the dough has to be very cold when you dip it. I take out one tray at a time using the double boiler method - worked much better than having them all out at once. I have had to use extra chocolate chips each time, so I would suggest making sure you don't count on using exactly 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Good buckeyes, but I would cut the amount of confectioner's sugar to about 4 cups and perhaps add a bit more peanut butter. When I bite into these, the flavor is mostly confectioner's sugar and little PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've been making Buckeyes forever and although I did not make this recipe I was reading the reviews and can see where folks would have some problems. I use 2 sticks of butter (1 cup), 2 cups of PB (18 oz jar), 1-1/2 lbs of powdered sugar (I use a scale, weigh, then sift) (btw, 1 lb = roughly 4 cups), 2 TABLEspoons of vanilla. In a large pot (6 qt) I slowly melt the butter and PB together, stirring until smooth. Once smooth, remove from heat, add vanilla and then powder sugar, a cup at a time. The mixture will be crumbly. With clean hands, I use my hands to incorporate/knead the sugar into the butter/pb. The mixture is a bit dry. While still warm, I make several large oblong shaped balls (think snow balls how you have to "pack" dry snow into ball) then I break off small pieces and roll into little balls (16-18 grams). I put them on a cookie sheet in the freezer for a couple of hours. I melt the chocolate with PARAFFIN wax. You don't need much wax. The wax keeps the chocolate smooth and easy to dip in and out, AND the result is a beautiful shine. I tried one time to dip in melted chocolate without wax and I couldn't believe what a disaster. It clumped and they looked terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I love this recipe, although I usually use 2 cups of peanut butter, 5 cups of powdered sugar and a dash of salt. And I make sure to sift the powdered sugar before adding it to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is a very good recipe my mom showed me how to make when I was six yrs old. Now I'm thirty two and I still make them but with a twist. Sometimes I had cinnamon to the peanut butter. Or last year I thought to myself what would taste good inside the peanut butter buckeye, Carmel. Make your balls place freezer 15 to 20 minutes, remove I use a straw from McDonald's insert it halfway into the ball place my Finger over the opposite end of straw (which allows a suction force) remove straw pulling straight up. There's your hole for your carmel. I buy the square little carmel they seem to melt better and set better than any other ones I've tried. Fill it, you can cover it or leave it open and dip in chocolate. Me I cover the hole to surprise people not expecting it. I live in South Dakota, from Ohio believe it or not nobody out here even knows what BUCKEYES our. Go Bucks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Cramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Take the extra chocolate and cover things you already have in the house (corn flakes, raisins, rice krispies, etc)~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made these for Thanksgiving in DC, since they don't get Buckeyes here. I read a lot of reviews, but chose to make exactly as recipe says. Would not change a single thing!! The recommendation to keep frozen until you are ready to dip was an excellent suggestion, as it is more difficult when they start to sweat. If you use the double boiler, it keeps the chocolate hot the whole time and isn't any messier than microwave. Will be saving this one and using a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Scheffel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States