Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Excellent and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I used one cup of heavy cream and one cup of baileys brand cream (with irish cream in it). It was a really nice addition. It's very important to whip the eggs until thick and fluffy. I imagine that some of the other reviews that complain about the texture didn't beat the egg long enough, or were not careful when folding the egg yolks with the egg whites (omelete!? did you whip the eggs at all??). When you fold the two parts together I find it helpful to use a spatula and mix only until the colours are blended. I also didn't have a pan that was exactly the right dimensions. Mine is 9.5' x 13.5'. I lined with parchment paper and then sprayed the paper and the sides with cake release spray. I still used most of the batter, so it did rise a lot. I remedied this by putting on a clean silicone oven mit and actually patting down the cake a bit after it had cooked for the recommended time, I then cooked it for a few minutes longer. I think the flavour is very nice, it is rich but I would disagree with other reviews that say it tastes like eating cocoa powder. I also iced mine with chocolate buttercream, which made it a bit sweeter. I decorated it with chocolate leaves and marzipan and fondant mushrooms and acorns. I think it may be my favourite cake I have made so far. The video was also very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronika Rogers
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Definitely a keeper, I liked the whipped chocolate for the filling and coating. Much better than the thick chocolate bark I have seen elsewhere. It looks more intimidating than it is. Just be sure to follow each direction and READ THE REVIEW NOTES. They are VERY helpful for clarification. Notes: -This recipe works just fine for high altitude -A bubble formed on the cake while in the oven, but deflated just fine when taken out -Spray the parchment paper with Pam or similar -BTHO of the mix. When you think it's good, keep going. -Dust the towel thoroughly with powdered sugar (we dusted both sides of the cake too) -We took our cake out at exactly fourteen minutes. -Swipe a bit of melted chocolate chips or something gently over the outside after refrigeration for a nice barky finish -Refrigerate it! We used this recipe for the mushrooms to decorate: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/meringue-mushrooms/ (Don't refrigerate the mushrooms. They get sticky.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronika Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delicious. Gluten free friendly. Easy and fabulous wow factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this for a Christmas around the World class of girls age 7-12 and they all loved it. I didn't find it to taste eggy at all. I did follow all the tips regarding beating the eggs, parchment, etc. and it turned out great. I didn't have enough cream, so I used 1/2 batch of whipped cream in the center and frosted with buttercream. It was almost too sweet (and I LOVE sugar), so I'd stick with all whipped cream next time. I'm gluten intolerant, and recipes that are converted to be gluten free often come out horrible. It's much better to find recipes that didn't have gluten in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made exactly as is. A new tradition started according to my family. One log fed 12 barely. I will make two next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
A great cake! I made it for my French Club's Buche de Noel competition, and my entire family loved the piece we got to try! I can only hope the other club members enjoyed it too! ^u^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeacake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious and not as hard to make as you would think. There is plenty of chocolate cream for the inside and outside if you want it on the outside. It's actually very pretty without frosting - looks more like an actual log. But we like frosting so I did use the cream to frost the outside as well and used a fork to make it look more like bark. Still very pretty and tasty. I will definitely make this again. I followed the recipe as written and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tastes like a fancy restaurant!! Glad I followed the advice of others and beat the eggs for a full 5 minutes. Cake was tender and delish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmarttucci
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is absolutely one of my favorite cake recipes now. My mother has called it the every holiday and occasion cake. The frosting which is more like a very yummy mouse can stand on its own, only about half of it made it to each cake(I made three) The first one I put too much salt in though which lets just say it made its way to the garbage. The second and third though came out absolutely wonderful and everyone adored them, even thought they were too beautiful to cut. I had to use my handy dandy electric mixer just to get everything to the right consistency and still took a bit of time, but it was definitely worth it. I have to say that the best way to cool it down is sticking it in the freezer for about half an hour, otherwise no matter how much you cool it in the fridge the frosting will become a little liquidy (at least that was a problem I had with one of the cakes) Anyways, I will definitely be making this wonderful cake again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States