Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Just finished making this cake about an hour ago. It turned out amazing! Appreciate the suggestions about beating the eggs thoroughly and sprinkling lots of confectioners' sugar. In my case, I had no parchment paper but non-stick cooking spray worked great. The only critique I have is the 'cake' itself turned out a bit salty. I'm not sure if it's because I didn't mix it well enough. Other than that, it tastes amazing! Highly suggest this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this for a Christmas dessert because I have a daughter who is gluten free. It was delicious but took too much time for me. I like something easy, but my daughter loved it. I would make it again if she wanted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe for a traditional holiday dessert that's sure to impress. Try it--you'll surprise yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
WOW!!! Thank you so much for leading me to Kitchen Success with a jelly-roll cake!!! I have tried for years unsuccessfully and this time it actually came out perfect!!! I will hold on to this recipe as my base and have fun experimenting with new flavors and fillings! Thank you so much--it was a Christmas Kitchen Miracle!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I thought this was a great "first timer" recipe. I have never made this before and felt that it was pretty easy. There is no recipe for the "icing" or the Meringue Mushrooms so I had to go on a search for that, but honestly this was a very light and yummy dessert. I omitted the cocoa from the whipped cream and left it subtly sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klove radio
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe, very chocolatey cake. Followed the recipe exactly, pretty easy to prepare. And very close to the "real" buche de noel in France. Will definitely make this recipe again... Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was incredibly good. Could some one tell me if I could use round cake pans to make this a year round confection. My family is in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious and quite easy to make. I made this for Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. It takes like a mousse cake. I took another reviewers advice and beat the hell out of the yolks-until it looked liked melted butter. I used the whipped cream for filling and had plenty to frost the cake. I decorated with fresh cranberries and mint leaves to resemble holly. Turned out delicious and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My family was stunned when they saw the Buche. Not only were they shocked at how pretty it was but they were amazed at how great it tasted. I made a cocoa buttercream frosting to go with it. The cake is so rich that it probably doesn't need it, although it does help with the looks. Perfect luxury for the gluten free folks in your life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I've always wanted to make one of these. It came out great. Very tasty - no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States