Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
made this once before and it tasted great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very light. Always a hit at whatever party I bring it to. I find it easier to travel with it when wrapped in saran wrap completely and placed on a plate. Can be dressed up on location and that prevents further cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rania
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent recipe I made it last weekend for a christmas party and it was a hit.I followed the exact recipe but brushed the cake with creme de cacao liquor it gave a little authentic taste.Thank you for sharring this recipe and thanks for the reviews since they perfected the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
WOW, it's my fist time making a buche de Noel... This one is so delicious. Can wait to share it with my guest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moffie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I love the presentations of the traditional buche. I tried making one back when I was twenty. I ended up trying three times and I failed. This time I was determined to be successful. I beat the yolks for about 5 min--this is necessary to ensure that the cake is not too dense and chewy; something I wish someone had told me whan I was 20. I beat the whites til stiff and shiny. I baked on parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I used the cream in this recipe for the filling, but I knew that my BF would need something sweeter for the frosting. He has a major sweet tooth so I used the Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting recipe from this site to frost the outside. I also cut off a branch at an angle from the end and placed it atop the buche. Enfin, un grand succes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My husband and guests said this was the best dessert I'd ever made, and they ate it all too! I thought the batter didn't end up fluffy enough, but I had the mixer on its highest setting, so dunno?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela W
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I am very happy I chose this recipe. I admit I was a bit skeptical about the no flour in this recipe and almost opted not to make it but I love the texture and how it turned out. I was scared after unrolling the "cake" part, it looked horrible, but after I put in the filling and re-rolled it, it did look just like a log!! I opted to ice the outside with the chocolate whip cream filling from this recipe and used another recipe found here: Yule-Log for the filling inside. I am so glad I did! Turned out wonderfully festive and everyone loved it.. I will start making this every year now. I look forward to finding little trinkets throughout the year to add to the log. I couldnt find any this year so all I added was a sprig of holly and a few maraschino cherries for the berries. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skyler Kate
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this for my family Christmas dinner, and it was a BIG hit! I'd never made a real French dessert before, so I was a bit hesitant to try since it was a VERY last minute decision (think the day of the event with 4.5 hours until guests arrive, and no ingredients). Luckily for me, despite complications like the cake sticking to the parchment paper (I really recommend that you grease it or something), it came out beautifully and finished right on time! Not to mention, it was delicious, although rich, and BEAUTIFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyler Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is my husband's favorite dessert. I don't make it often because although it is not difficult, it is time comsuming. It tastes great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States