Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Turned out not bad... the filling was kinda runny but was still good... I think next time I'm gonna use more sugar, the icing was a little bitter...good overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was not as difficult of an undertaking as I thought. It turned out beautifully. However, my number one tip would be to combine about a quarter of the egg white mixture into the yolk mixture before folding it all together. This lightens up the the consistency of the yolk mixture (which is still quite heavy even when whipped) and makes combining the whites and yolks a bit easier. You really have to be careful not to deflate your eggs. I've seen this done by Martha Stewart, Bobby Flay, Alton Brown, etc. I also added just about a quarter cup of cake flour at this point, just to give it a little more substance. I put a little less cocoa in my whipped cream, and then made a chocolate ganache icing to spread over top. Way delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made the recipe as written and it came out great. The only thing I didn't do was use the dish towel to turn out the cake- the fibers in the towel would have stuck to the cake so I just used anther piece of parchment paper. The batter was fluffy and wonderful looking. After it cooked for 13 minutes, it was still spongey and great. Next year I will get more fancy with decorating- this year was a test run and Yummy!! So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This turned out perfect for me! I beat the eggs 5 minutes, greased the parchment paper, and put a lot of powdered sugar on my towel and everything went smoothly. I didn't add cocoa to the frosting because I wanted white filling. I only used about half the filling and then added cocoa to the remaining filling and frosted the outside of my log. It was very tasty and I had no issues with an "eggy" taste like some did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I only gave this recipe 3/5 stars because it didn't turn out so hot for me. My sponge cake was a little lumpy, it was hard to get out of the pan (broke in many spots), and was VERY flimsy. It felt like it was going to fall apart after I iced it, but looked good and tasted alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Just perfect! I followed the recipe exactly, and beat the egg yorks for a good five minutes on the highest speed of the mixture, and it could not have been more spongy! Thanks for a great recipe, this one is a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
made this once before and it tasted great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very light. Always a hit at whatever party I bring it to. I find it easier to travel with it when wrapped in saran wrap completely and placed on a plate. Can be dressed up on location and that prevents further cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rania
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent recipe I made it last weekend for a christmas party and it was a hit.I followed the exact recipe but brushed the cake with creme de cacao liquor it gave a little authentic taste.Thank you for sharring this recipe and thanks for the reviews since they perfected the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
WOW, it's my fist time making a buche de Noel... This one is so delicious. Can wait to share it with my guest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moffie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States