Broiled Grapefruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Um......YUM! This was AWESOME! Thanks Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
If you don't like grapefruit, you won't like this. I thought it might be enough to get my kids to have a few bites, but no. They didn't like it. The butter/grapefruit combo didn't do it for me either. A suggestion though. I'd skip the taking the grapefruit out of the rind part (just to put it back in again) and just cut in half, top with the ingredients. I still had to spend time getting the meat out with a spoon anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDEGOLIER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
i thought this recipe was a great interesting way to eat grapefruit. really interesting tastes, and it was really quick and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I just cut the grapefruit in half and put the toppings on (that is what the original recipe calls for) because I find it easier to scoop out the flesh when it is warm and softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I did what I always do to 'prepare' grapefruit - slice the sections and around the edge, without actually removing the fruit. I also used Smart Balance and Splenda, as my diet has been horrible this week. This was very light and refreshing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
A friend gifted us with a box of Texas grapefruit, and I needed to find a way to get my family to eat them all, so searched under "ingredients" for grapefruit. (There's not much!) I sectioned the grapefruit and left them in the skins. 3 minutes under the broiler was not enough to heat the grapefruit through, so the top was warm and the bottom was cold. I would leave in the broiler a little longer next time. Got rid of some grapefruit, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I enjoyed this at work today. I used a combination of 2tsp brown surgar and 1/2tsp white surgar and sprinkled with cinnamon and dotted with butter per half of grapefruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCD0205

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe is easy and prep was about 5 minutes. I washed my grapefruit first and dried it well. Mighty yummy on a cold winter day. Since my grapefruit were at room temp originally, they heated through nicely. Will try this again without butter...and it probably won't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Was not a big fan of this one. A lot of work for not much results. You are better off to cut the grapefruit and sprinkle sugar on top and eat. This recipe was too much of a hassle, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Great idea! I love getting all the bitter pulp out of there! BUT the grapefruit I used must have been a bit older . I didn't really like how buttery and sugary it is, either. Grapefruit is supposed to be the healthy meal, maybe next time I'll just use a tiny bit of sugar and omit the butter altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States