Broiled Grapefruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Um......YUM! This was AWESOME! Thanks Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
i thought this recipe was a great interesting way to eat grapefruit. really interesting tastes, and it was really quick and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I just cut the grapefruit in half and put the toppings on (that is what the original recipe calls for) because I find it easier to scoop out the flesh when it is warm and softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Again, my laziness prevails and I just loosen the sections with a knife but don't bother to remove the sections and all that. I also skipped the butter - although Smart Balance or other non-hydrogenated spreads will work. I just didn't feel that butter and grapefruit belonged together. I used brown sugar and a little cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, and that made these smell and taste wonderful! Reminded me of something served at a nice bed & breakfast in Maine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Delicious. My husband was skeptical, but he gulped down every last bit. A really nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Yum, this is a great winter breakfast. I wasn't sure I'd like the grapefruit with sugar & cinnamon, but it tastes great. I did leave off the butter, though. Also, I just cut around the slices and left them in the shell. Lastly, I cooked it a little longer so it's warm all the way through. Healthy, a little sweet, warm & comforting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I'd never thought of anything like this before, but I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorchester, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I am 24 years old and have never eaten a grapefruit until the morning. I've been thinking about trying it for a while now and I found this recipe and decided it was time. I was always really afraid of the bitterness, but this was awesome. I did not pull everything out as this recipe indicated. I just cut around the sections and tried my best to push the sugar and cinnimon down into the cuts. I did not use butter and I broiled it a bit on the long side, the edges started to burn a bit. It was just fabulous. This may be a morning staple for me. I did not find that it took me any longer than toasting a bagel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
There's nothing better than a grapefruit. I love them!!!!!!! Broiling them is a great idea and it was really good, although I didn't go to all this trouble. I just cut in half and knived thru the skins. I didn't put the butter on it as I don't need the extra calories. Great idea! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannabofanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a wonderful way to eat grapefruit! I severed this with quiche for a special weekend breakfast, and my boyfriend loved it! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Rod Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States