Broiled Grapefruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I just brought back 5 lbs. of fresh pink grapefruit from my parents tree in Florida and decided to try this recipe. I keep my grapefruits at room temperature on my counter. After cutting out the grapefruit I cut another one and removed the fruit and placed in a bowl (1 1/2 grapefruits). Next I took another small bowl and mixed the cinnamon and sugar together then drained the grapefruit (to drink) and ladled into ONE shell. I was intrigued by the addition of the butter so I decided to try adding it. The most time consuming part was tearing out the inside of the fruit so I used kitchen shears to make it easier and faster. If I were to make it again I would cut down on the cinnamon. Frankly, it's just easier (and less time consuming) to cut and half sprinkle with sugar or slenda and cut the sections and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Yum, this is a great winter breakfast. I wasn't sure I'd like the grapefruit with sugar & cinnamon, but it tastes great. I did leave off the butter, though. Also, I just cut around the slices and left them in the shell. Lastly, I cooked it a little longer so it's warm all the way through. Healthy, a little sweet, warm & comforting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Delicious. My husband was skeptical, but he gulped down every last bit. A really nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Again, my laziness prevails and I just loosen the sections with a knife but don't bother to remove the sections and all that. I also skipped the butter - although Smart Balance or other non-hydrogenated spreads will work. I just didn't feel that butter and grapefruit belonged together. I used brown sugar and a little cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, and that made these smell and taste wonderful! Reminded me of something served at a nice bed & breakfast in Maine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very good and well worth the trouble! I had had this once before at a brunch and was pleasantly surprised to see it here. I omitted the butter and cooked them a bit longer per another review adn they were perfect! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Salas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was a nice change of pace as a one-time novelty kind of side dish, but it's too time consuming to make again. It has an interesting taste, reminiscent of spiced baked apples and was a nice change from the normal fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Great idea! I love getting all the bitter pulp out of there! BUT the grapefruit I used must have been a bit older . I didn't really like how buttery and sugary it is, either. Grapefruit is supposed to be the healthy meal, maybe next time I'll just use a tiny bit of sugar and omit the butter altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Was not a big fan of this one. A lot of work for not much results. You are better off to cut the grapefruit and sprinkle sugar on top and eat. This recipe was too much of a hassle, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe is easy and prep was about 5 minutes. I washed my grapefruit first and dried it well. Mighty yummy on a cold winter day. Since my grapefruit were at room temp originally, they heated through nicely. Will try this again without butter...and it probably won't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I enjoyed this at work today. I used a combination of 2tsp brown surgar and 1/2tsp white surgar and sprinkled with cinnamon and dotted with butter per half of grapefruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCD0205

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States