Broiled Grapefruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Broiled Grapefruit Haiku: "Always eat mine cold, but this was a nice, new change. I'd do it again!" My MiL sends me boxes of Texas ruby-reds and I usually obliterate them just sliced around the perimeter and thru the segments w/ a sprinkle a Splenda. I just had so many this time around that I wanted a more dessert-ey feel - enter this recipe! I didn't spoon sections out into a bowl, only to put back in the rind - just loosened around the edges and wedges and topped (swapping white for brown sugar Splenda) and 5 min. was just perfect for a nice gooey brown top to emerge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I just made the broiled grapefruit and it was delish. Unfortunately I did not have any brown sugar that was soft...lol. I will make again. It was quite filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I changed the recipe with just topping it with honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Pretty good and extra simple ! Made a light and hot winter dessert of it rather than a breakfast thing. I used brown sugar. Next time I'll skip the butter or use far less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Watery and never crisped up the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It tasted great, but if I had used the recipe's method of slicing, removing, and replacing the flesh of the grapefruits, I would still be making it. Also, the halves overflowed onto the baking sheet and I had to remove them prematurely because I was wary of starting a fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieiscool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This wasn't bad ... I guess I'm just a lover of grapefruit in their natural (grin) state. Most of the grapefruit you find nowadays is so sweet you really don't have to put sugar on top ... so I found this a tad too sicky=sweet for my liking. Having said that, if it were a frigid snowy day (and not 102 degrees with 88% humidity), this would be a nice way to warm up your belly. -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This couldn't have been more simple! I didn't pre-cut and it turned out fine. The house smells divine too! Good all year round and it makes for a very healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My mother used to make this as a first course for a dinner. She would add a cherry to the center. Didn't bother to scoop out the rind though and no butter - just sugar & cinnamon. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Have been broiling grapefruit for years and love it. This sounds like a better way than how I did it. I always just used serated knife to section, sprinkled a little sugar and lots of cinnamon and broiled for a couple minutes. Will do it this way in future and try adding a dab of butter. Broiled graperuit is truly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States