Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This stuff is awfully addicting! When I am going to make little balls, I pour the hot brigadeiro onto a plate and stick it in the fridge to let it cool. I also butter my hands before rolling them. I have made them once by pouring them into small plastic shot cups, which turned out fantastic. They taste good with chocolate sprinkes or you can roll them in Nesquik powder. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplydelish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Pain in the butt to make; sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
To me, these were just "ok." Sort of like Tootsie Rolls, sort of like cooled but firm hot fudge, but different somehow. I'm not the best judge because my sweet tooth isn't super-crazy. We rolled them in coconut, crushed pecans, or crushed white chips, because it's what we had. Made for a project on Brazil my daughter had to do for her (sophomore) Global Issues class. She said she and her classmates loved them. Of course, give a little chocolate to a bunch of teenagers and most of them will say "mmm. yum!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StyreneOxide
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyreneOxide
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Awesome recipie! Loved it!! Immedietly after rolling them i rolled them all in different things such as: coconut, scor bits, grahm cracker crumbs, finely chopped nuts, hot chocolate powder, and mocha coffee powder mix. This made them look really fancy, and tasted even better. *When rolling into balls, use a very thin layer of butter or margerine to grease hands. Also, i found the review by BLANDINA extremely helpful and made it way easier and better, minus the part about them needing sweeter cocoa powder. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
It is very simple. The secret here is let it cook until starts boiling and the bottom is coming off from the pan. Do not let boil too much or it will become too sticky (I like but most people don't). Another is to switch the cocoa/nesquick for Carnation Hot Chocolate powder. It gets delicious this way. When the dough is cool, you can make small balls (put a bit of butter in our hands to make it easy) and cover in anything you want: sugar/crushed walnuts/sprinkles/dark chocolate powder. It will look like a truffle and will be a hit in any party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernanda Fatio

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is an awesome dish. I have a brazilian heretage and me and my father used to make this all the time. I will warn of one thing though, this IS a type of candy. And like all types of candy, there's an art to it. Don't give up if you fail once, I know I did a BUNCH when I was learning to make it again recently. If your result was too tough to handle, you will need to remember to take it off the heat sooner, and if it's too soft, leave it in the heat longer. It dosn't HAVE to be perfect though, because once I made a batch that was WAY too soft and I just ate it out of a bowl. Also, remember the traditional Brigadeiros are coated heavily with chocolate jimmys. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was very tasty. but I did have problems rolling. I set in the fridge overnight and they were very hard. Left them out for a while on counter and they were softer but extremely sticky almost like caramel. But very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This didn't over that well with family and friends. It is chewy like a caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States