Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by guardami
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, I had never eaten a brigadeiro. I had just learned that our family would be moving to Brazil for 4 years, and eager to get into the spirit of it all I researched recipes and decided to make these. They were disappointing: dry, crumbly, too sweet. I couldn't imagine what the fuss was all about. I've now been here 3 years and eaten dozens. Here are my tips: 1. DO NOT OVERCOOK. Combine ingredients, cook over low-ish heat, stir constantly, and turn off the heat the very second the mixture comes together and pulls away from the pan when you tilt it. IMMEDIATELY turn out into a buttered bowl. It will seem undercooked and too liquidy; it's not. 2. Let cool to room temperature before proceeding. Butter your hands, roll and dip into sprinkles. They will be very mushy. The sprinkles and the mini paper cups are in fact what help the brigadeiro retain it's round shape. When you bite into them they should be soft and caramel-y but not chewy. Overcooking by even a minute will ruin them. 3. Sprinkles: chocolate jimmies are the most common here. You can do better. High-end brigadeiro places will roll them in Callebaut dark chocolate flakes for a "meio amargo" (bittersweet) flavor -- see photo of one I made today . Kids love rainbow sprinkles, but use the tiniest little ball ones. Pistachios ground to a powder make an AMAZING brigadeiro. Or serve them poured into mini shot glasses and topped with sprinkles, and serve with a tiny spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I am Brazilian and have already tried to make our Brazilian Brigadeiro in different countries, but it didn't work. The condensed milk was too sweety and the powder chocolate didn't really taste like chocolate. Don't know if we can do the recipe, with the same taste, without our own ingredients... And not being rolled is tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I used other people's feedback and added 3 TB of Nesquick instead of cocoa powder. I started it on 2 on the electric stove and after 5 minutes turned it up to 4 since it wasn't hot enough. I stirred for about 25 minutes. I think the trick is that once it gets really hard to stir then you stop (you will feel it to start thicken--keep going until it's a lot of work to keep going). I cooled it for about 30 minutes on parchment paper and then started rolling and coating them. The dough was sticky but I found it was easier to handle when my hands were wet and the toppings also stuck on much better than with butter/oil. Feedback from my Brazilian friend was that they tasted authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Happy to find this recipe online after eating them at a party! In addition to chocolate Brigadeiro, I also tried the party host's idea to use lemon zest(1tsp), lemon juice(1Tbl) and white chocolate chips instead of butter. Nice alternative to chocolate. Turned out great, very caramel like, glad for the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My son had to prepare a recipe from any Latin American country to share with his World Studies class. He chose this because it would be easy to share (no utensils or slicing and serving needed). He used part chocolate milk drink mix, and relied on the tips so many reviewers have shared to prepare it. Since his class is nut-free, he rolled some in chocolate sprinkles, and some in silver sugar. They were simple to make, and turned out really well. I was worried they would be sickly sweet, but they were about the same as any other candy. The consistency of the finished product reminded me of a Tootsie Roll. Fun recipe to make, too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Delicious!! I found the best topping to use was confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've had to make this recipe multiple times for school, and each time, the students loved it. Great recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly in MS
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly. I did not love the taste of them but they were easy to make and looked very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Delicious simple brigadero. I am in love it tastes just like it did in Brazil! I whipped up a batch in the microwave in about 5 minutes then cooled it in the fridge for a few hours and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I took these to a dinner party and they were a total hit! People couldn't believe how amazing they were! I am so glad I read the reviews before trying to make these or I think my first time would have been a disaster. Some of the key points to remember include: 1) cook/stir the mix in the saucepan for longer than you think. When you think it's done, heat a little longer. The mix has to get rather firm before taking you're done. 2) Transfer heated mix to bowl and put in freezer for as long as possible. I used an aluminum bowl without any oil and it came off fine. I left it in the freezer almost an hour, which was long enough for it to stiffen all the way through. 3) I sprayed my hands with PAM and it really helped prevent the mix from sticking while I was rolling the balls. 4) Double the recipe, as the original recipe only yielded about 15 balls for me. But I like big balls so...Make them smaller if you want more. I don't think you can have too much. Just refrigerate or freeze any leftovers for periodic treats or another dinner party. Definitely use a mix of toppings to roll your balls - the variety keeps it interesting and looks better when presented on a platter. I rolled some in powdered sugar, some in chocolate sprinkles, some in crushed Nilla Wafers, and some in coconut (my favorite!!!). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States