Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I was craving these the day before yesterday,, and I tried to call my mom to get the recipe but then I found them on this site and all the ingredients were as I remebered.. I did them the was We did them as a kid.. after the mixture is completley blended and cooked pour hot mixture in a pie pan.. and then coat your hands with butter to prevent sticking and burning yourself and dive into the hot mixture rolling the balls and then immediatley putting them in chocolate sprinkles.. I did it myself ( though i remeber begina kid helping my mom make them) she would roll them hot and thow them in the sprinkles and us kids would roll them in the sprinkles.. I think they stick to the candy better if they are as hot as can be,.. If you can recruit someone to be designated as the sprinkler then i think it would be easier than if you did them yourself.. anyway,.. they are delish and still soft from the fridge :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Very Full Monty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Mmmmm. These were yummy. It just mostly taste like condensed milk, but I like condensed milk so I have no problems with it. I made enough for 8 balls, 2 were just chocolate - no coating, 2 with chocolate sprinkles, 2 with powdered sugar, and 2 with crushed peanuts. Both my boyfriend and I liked the peanuts the best. We both agreed that even though it looks pretty, the powdered sugar and chocolate sprinkles basically taste like the uncoated one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Photo by sdbooker
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
WOW yummy! So creamy, I made 28. I had so much fun decorating these brigadeiros. I used tiny marshmellows around one and it looked like a flower....HA! ( see picture) I also rolled them in strawberry nesquik, power sugar mixed with cinnamon, nuts, crunched Oreo cookies and carved a small hole in several strawberrys and filled it with recipe and add sprinkles and nuts on top...now those were good! Easy, fun, will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is a quick & easy little treat - and fun for kids to help with. I needed to use up some sweetened condensed milk from a dinner dish earlier today and this was perfect! Even my husband, who doesn't like sweets, liked the brigadeiro! I used food server's plastic gloves instead of greasing my hands and rolled the balls in chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Yum! This is great. I found this recipe by accident while trying to figure out how to use up a can of sweetened condensed milk. I'm glad I did. The balls are gooey with the consistency of an old fashioned caramel. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It tasted great but it wouldn't roll in to a ball we ended up eating out of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Other reviewers were extremely helpful and I was able to get the consistency just right. The brigadeiro set up just like they should, so if you do make them, follow the recommendations of others.... BUT, I did not care for the flavor at all. Even my children and husband didn't like them. I think you have to REALLY love the flavor of condensed milk to enjoy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
The recipe is almost authentic, it's missing the crucial final step: the sprinkles. The original brigadeiro from Brazil is always rolled in chocolate sprinkles. A very good tip to make rolling easier: spread a little bit of butter/margarine on your hands, it will avoid the annoyance of having the dough stick to your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This did not work out for me......sorry....will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Very yummy. This is the first time making these little balls of heaven:) I only had powered sugar and colored sprinkles on hand, but I have big plans for these little treats. I plan on rolling in cashews, oreos, and sea salt...not all at once:) I did use on packet of hot chocolate rather then cocoa. I am a little bummed to hear that if they are not kept cool, they will "melt" Doubtful that I will have to worry about that this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States