Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
It is very simple. The secret here is let it cook until starts boiling and the bottom is coming off from the pan. Do not let boil too much or it will become too sticky (I like but most people don't). Another is to switch the cocoa/nesquick for Carnation Hot Chocolate powder. It gets delicious this way. When the dough is cool, you can make small balls (put a bit of butter in our hands to make it easy) and cover in anything you want: sugar/crushed walnuts/sprinkles/dark chocolate powder. It will look like a truffle and will be a hit in any party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernanda Fatio

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is an awesome dish. I have a brazilian heretage and me and my father used to make this all the time. I will warn of one thing though, this IS a type of candy. And like all types of candy, there's an art to it. Don't give up if you fail once, I know I did a BUNCH when I was learning to make it again recently. If your result was too tough to handle, you will need to remember to take it off the heat sooner, and if it's too soft, leave it in the heat longer. It dosn't HAVE to be perfect though, because once I made a batch that was WAY too soft and I just ate it out of a bowl. Also, remember the traditional Brigadeiros are coated heavily with chocolate jimmys. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was very tasty. but I did have problems rolling. I set in the fridge overnight and they were very hard. Left them out for a while on counter and they were softer but extremely sticky almost like caramel. But very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This didn't over that well with family and friends. It is chewy like a caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Took one bite, the rest went in the bin. No good. The consistency turned out just fine, the flavor was bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magdalayna's mom
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I heard about this recipe from 2 Brazilian men I know. They suggested doing something to make it sweeter so I used tips from other reviewers and used the 1 tbs butter, 1 14 oz can of sweetened condensed cream, and 3 tbs nesquick. It was delicious! I waited until it was super thick to start. I also sprayed my hands with the cooking spray to keep the stickiness to a minimum. I covered with all types of sprinkles, powdered sugar, and nesquick. I included a picture! It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I am Brazilian and these are my favorite since I was a child. I have taken this same recipe and turned it into a cake topping as well, just cook it a little less so it doesnt set so hard then pour it over a hot chocolate cake. It is delicious either way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
love them ... i love brazilian food and juices .. by any chance would you know how to make capu acau i think thats the name it a very refreshing drink i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
A very sticky situation...lol. We love the taste & thick-soft caramel texture. Honestly, this candy was too soft to pick up. Using a mini liner is a must, otherwise, it will melt on your fingers. We thought it went well dipped in chocolate, so that the outer shell can harden and get a surprise bite inside. I think this would be great filling for cupcake/cake or for drizzling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States