Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Lovely! Kids love these! It could be a tad too sweet/milk-like for the adults! But I liked it all the same! Just remember to sift your cocoa powder and definitely mix pronto so as to avoid clumping of the cocoa powder! If you are upto improvising as against the traditional brigadeiro, I would suggest adding some ground nuts too...but just a little. Also, make them into small balls. As other reviewers suggested, rolling them in nuts/sprinkles/colored sugar/sweetened desiccated coconut are all splendid ideas! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
these were amazing :)) the second time i made them, i added marshmallows in the middle and coated them in coconut. it tasted really good that way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I didn't run into the same problem so many reviewers had with the mixture not setting firmly enough (I'm curious if those people with problems may have used margarine instead of butter, since margarine has a higher water content and could be contributing to that type of problem), but in the end, I didn't really like these at all. The level of effort involved relative to taste was completely disproportionate, and I don't intend to ever make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These were so good and so easy. Im going to make these for my sisters halloween party. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
5 stars for simple 3 ingredients, easy to make and lots of fun, especially for kids to help. Toppings I have tried include, coconut, cocoa powder, crushed up shortbread, various sprinkles, and chocolate sprinkles, powdered sugar. Excellent! And I was suprised they are not so sickening sweet as I had anticipated. For those who need help with the Metric Conversion.... 14oz is roughly 400 ml (396 actually).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Hi Guys, I usually use light condensed milk. Also, Make sure to make the brigadeiro on a non sticky pan. Another little note is cook this on a light cooking temperature.. So it stays long enough to be hard without burning or sticking all over the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nubia
Photo by KJ
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My husband lived in Brazil for a few years so I decided I would make this for him as a surprise--what a hit! His only suggestion was instead of making them 2/3 the size of a golf ball, make them the size of whoppers so you can have more topping to chocolate ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I followed the suggestions. I didn't have any Nesquick, so I added a package of hot chocolate mix. I sprayed my hands with cooking spray before forming into balls. I also read that I should dip the balls into cocoa. That was a bad idea. Baking cocoa was too strong and sharp. I just kneaded the cocoa into the rest of the candy. Then, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very good truffle like candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These are really good. Although I thought they would be more like chocolates, this is just caramelly candy with a slight chocolate flavoring. I found that putting it in a seperate pan with greased wax paper worked really well. Once I got it started it just peeled right off, I cut it into equal sized chunks and rolled it. Very easy and very good, just make sure to cook it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States