Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This bread was wonderful. My mom's gluten intolerent and my family loved the recepie. I almost though that there was something wrong with the recipe because of the rubbery center but After looking around at the other reviews, I was relieve to find out after reading the review section that cooks from Brazil said that the rubbery texture was how it was supposed to turn out. It's definitely something to make again, though next time I'll reduce the amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Has a decent flavor, but there is something "interesting" about it. Maybe next time I'll add a different cheese or throw in some cheddar. It's never good when something tastes interesting. Maybe the flavor of the flour is coming through too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I love this stuff! Be very careful not to over cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I am from Minas Gerais and since I grew up having the convenience of finding these everywhere, I never bothered to learn how to make them. It took me moving to California to finally try making my own pão de queijo from scratch, so I tried this awesome recipe and it was absolutely perfect. On a personal note, I preferred to use the butter instead of olive oil, I tried both and found that one more authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This recipe is amazing. Tastes like the real pao de queijo from Minas Gerais, and is so simple to make. I am a Brazilian living in US for over 10 years and is the first time I made a sucessful pao de queijo,..all other recipes i have tried have been a failure so far, this one is easy and is just delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I couldn't find tapioca flour at my near by grocery store so I substituted it with wheat flour. I mixed the ingredients together as suggested in the recipe but it seemed a bit runny so I added another cup of flour. All together the bread was delicious, but the texture of the bread ended up being more like a biscuit (with the wheat flour at least).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
The proportions in this recipe are off. 2 cups of tapioca flour resulted in soup--no way to make 1/4 cup size "balls." Plus, when it says mix will be chunky it is smooth, but where it says smooth it is chunky. The bottom line: Added another 1/2 cup of flour and still ended up with cheese flatbreads. Taste was not bad but the idea that this recipe results in fluffy "balls" is laughable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
So Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I had never made these before, but was looking for a gluten free bread recipe for my husband. I tried them a few days ago and they were delicious!! The flavor reminded me of the cheddar bay biscuits at Red Lobster. They were a little too dense, but that might have been my fault. I substitued apple sauce for the oil and only had brown rice flour. I agree with some of the other reviews to add more cheese and if you are a garlic lover like me, add more of it too. Thanks for the recipe and I will surely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States