Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Not a bad recipe, but nothing can replace the cheese which is used in Brazil. "Queijo Minas" is a white, salty cheese. The secret "Pao de Queijo" is the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very much like Yoki Bread mix that I buy in the Latin food aisle in the grocery, supposedly a taste of Colombia I think. They are rubbery and very strong cheese flavor, supposed to be that way, made with tapioca starch. Look for it in your store, I live in FL where there is a heavy south american influence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! For anyone eating gluten-free, this gives a wonderful, flavorful bread that is not grainy and doesn't fall apart. The texture is unique and addictive! My whole family loves it. It freezes well and is almost like fresh when you heat it a FEW seconds in the microwave. My whole family loves this! I vary the amount of garlic depending on what a batch will be used for. I also switch from Parmesan to Motzarella from time to time. I also use half olive oil and half butter to cut down on the butter content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
From reading reviews, I understand that the rubbery texture is correct. However, it's just too different for me. We didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This has become the backbone of my gluten free breads. I substitute 1/2 cup sorghum flour with the tapioca flour, add fennel seed, and switch between parm. cheese and sharp cheddar as the mood strikes me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
delicious! wonderful texture and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
great recipe, thank you! i also omitted the garlic and made them in muffin pans because the batter was so runny, but they turned out exactly how i remembered them being. yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Easier than I expected from having tried other recipes. I am from Brazil and this tastes like the real thing - I will reduce the oil tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These were very good--flavor was fantastic. Next time, I will make them much smaller to get more of the crusty outside and less of the gooey inside. Update: I made them much smaller (2 bites) and they were much better. Tried freezing them after baking and texture suffers--very chewy. Have an unbaked batch (with Asiago instead of Parmesan) in the fridge right now to see how that works. I will update with results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gadget_Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Crawford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States